close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

  • Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Need help - wireless internet for a Mac G4??

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by pangris, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. pangris

    pangris Moderator Moderator

    2,516
    3
    May 19, 2002
    Baton Rouge
    Hello everyone. I've run int a relatively unique situation. I'm working for an ad agency that uses macs for graphis design and video, and PCs for everything else. I have a new laptop on the way (gateway) with a wireless internet card and wireless router.

    What I need to figure out is how to use the router for the laptop and the Mac G4 the modem is currently driving.

    Does anyone have any idea if the G4 running system 10X, 10.2.6, 350 megahertz, with 832 megs of ram can support a wireless card?

    If so, where can I buy one?

    I don't even know where to start looking -

    Oh, I got a router that uses a "G" band, but can get a "B" band if necessary...
     
  2. I have a G4 Mac.The Apple wireless network is called Airport.I'm not running OS X or a wireless connection on it.The new Macs use Airport Extreme.It's faster but for the 350mhz G4 it should be Airport but Airport Extreme may work in it.I network PC's with Macs but not wireless.It shouldn't be too difficult.
     


  3. bobby_w

    bobby_w Alienigena Platinum Member

    1,633
    0
    Nov 10, 2001
    South of Houston
    From Apples website...

    Make sure yours will accept the right card.
     
  4. Deanster

    Deanster Cheese? Millennium Member CLM

    6,738
    1,036
    Feb 24, 1999
    There are two versions of the G4/350 G4 desktop. One has an onboard
    Airport wireless slot (wireless 'b', which will work with any 'g' router also, just at the slower speed), which will accept the standard Airport card (NOT the Airport Extreme), and the other has no wireless slot.

    Here's the detailed pages on the two versions, code-named by apple 'Yikes!' and 'Sawtooth'. The 'Sawtooth' version will do Airport, the 'Yikes!' version will need something like an external USB wireless device.

    The two are a bit hard to tell apart, as they have the same case. The two major differences are that Sawtooth machines have an AGP graphics card instead of PCI, and that they have the Airport Slot. Seems like the best bet is to open the case (super easy), and see if there's an Airport slot. Here's Apple's instructions for installing an Airport card in this machine - follow them, see if the slot they're talking about exists, and you'll learn in about 30 seconds which one you've got.

    the airport slot is a little flat cage of polished metal, just big enough to slide a full-sized PCMCIA card into, at the front of the machine, right near the case hinge.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=58536

    good luck!
     
  5. It should be able use normal PC PCI cards too.At least certain ones.
     
  6. Deanster

    Deanster Cheese? Millennium Member CLM

    6,738
    1,036
    Feb 24, 1999
    While this is true in theory, I've found the success rate for PCI cards that don't actually say 'Mac' on the box to be lousy. Drivers, software, etc. doesn't work, or the card works just fine 'till you need to update the firmware, but the company only makes a windows-based firmware updater, etc.

    I think a USB-based wireless dongle would be the way to go if the machine doesn't do Airport.
     
  7. I thinking the same.There are PCI slots but I've never risked using a card that wasn't for a Mac.USB might be a good way to go.I think you still need the proper drivers.
     
  8. pangris

    pangris Moderator Moderator

    2,516
    3
    May 19, 2002
    Baton Rouge
    Found a way around the conundrum, but thanks fro all the support!

    Paul
     
  9. bobby_w

    bobby_w Alienigena Platinum Member

    1,633
    0
    Nov 10, 2001
    South of Houston
    By Glock Talk tech support courtesy law you have to post your solution. :)
     
  10. pangris

    pangris Moderator Moderator

    2,516
    3
    May 19, 2002
    Baton Rouge
    Sure! Sorry, didn't think of that.

    I transfigured the flux capacitor by rerouting the anti-gravitational unit.
















    Actually, I found out that the router has a output port so I can just plung the mac into the wireless router, and walk about with the new laptop.

    Simple, yet effective :)

    Sincere thanks for the answers, however!

    Paul