close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

My computer CLOCK has gone nutz...

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Zoolander, Jan 29, 2005.


  1. Zoolander

    Zoolander
    Expand Collapse
    Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    147
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    For the last week it's always off. I keep resetting it but it still loses the correct time. Is my puter infected with something that might be causing this? I'm using MS Windows XP Home Edition. Is it my settings?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    Sure looks lke it. read the sticky on the top of this forum.
    There are all sorts of free tools to download to get rid of that pesky Trojan.
     

  3. Zoolander

    Zoolander
    Expand Collapse
    Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    147
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
  4. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Mostly it is the fact that you took Internet Exploiter out onto the Internet with default settings. Sorry, guy, but that is the PC equivalent of sleeping around with no protection...IN HAITI.

    And THEN you use Norton...gaaah. Try going to Trend's Housecall page and running an online scan once. Your AV may have missed quite a few nasties. Eliminate that possibility first.

    Are those tiles all actually for Web pages or are they mostly popup windows?

    Just run Mozilla Suite or Firefox exclusively from now on and that silliness will cease - once you get it cleaned up, that is. Check Google for an app called HiJack This!, then put it directly into your C: directory...NOT in a folder under C:.

    Once that's done, run it, and it'll give you a log file of all the BHO's and other cretinous crap that IE decided you needed to have. Post it here and I will help you keep what you need and toss what is making your rig ill.

    BTW, how old is your PC? If it's more than a couple years old, you may need a fresh CMOS battery...it is the big flat battery on the motherboard that keeps the BIOS alive when the machine isn't on. That's where the system clock is stored.

    Bring yourself to the PC's potential first, by firmly touching the power supply inside the case. Unplug the power supply's cord, then just pop the battery out gently with a small screwdriver or a knifetip. You will see a place on the bracket where it has a retention clip...just push that clip away from the battery and it will hop right out for you when it is free of the edge of the battery.

    Take it to any camera counter or PC shop and get a suitable replacement for it. Costs less than $5.00 most places.

    DON'T try to lever it out under any circumstances, as that will probably break the retention bracket - and THAT will cost you the price of a new MOBO.

    So go scan it up at Trend, and find out what you need to do next.

    Good luck.
     
  5. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I remember when XP first came out there was a patch either for cetain motherboards or just for XP in general that fixed a lost time in the system clock.This wasn't a problem with all systems and XP installs but they came out with a general patch for all systems anyway.
     
  6. Zoolander

    Zoolander
    Expand Collapse
    Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    147
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    First part: A
     
  7. Zoolander

    Zoolander
    Expand Collapse
    Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    147
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    Second part : B
     
  8. 0100010

    0100010
    Expand Collapse
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    562
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    Is it a Dell? There was a batch of Dell Dimensions that had an issue with not being able to keep time. Might want to check with them.
     
  9. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Sounds like a memory battery.
     
  10. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
  11. Zoolander

    Zoolander
    Expand Collapse
    Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    147
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    Mostly it is the fact that you took Internet Exploiter out onto the Internet with default settings. Sorry, guy, but that is the PC equivalent of sleeping around with no protection...IN HAITI.

    What should my defaults be then?


    And THEN you use Norton...gaaah. Try going to Trend's Housecall page and running an online scan once. Your AV may have missed quite a few nasties. Eliminate that possibility first.

    I will sometime in the next 20 hours.


    Are those tiles all actually for Web pages or are they mostly popup windows?

    No pop-up's. They are all web pages. I use the Google bar pop up blocker. I surf the net with 15 to 20 websites open.


    Just run Mozilla Suite or Firefox exclusively from now on and that silliness will cease - once you get it cleaned up, that is.

    I have Firefox and I don't use it because of slow speeds.

    Check Google for an app called HiJack This!, then put it directly into your C: directory...NOT in a folder under C:

    I have HiJack This!. See above post for results.

    Once that's done, run it, and it'll give you a log file of all the BHO's and other cretinous crap that IE decided you needed to have. Post it here and I will help you keep what you need and toss what is making your rig ill.

    Thanks, take a look.

    BTW, how old is your PC? If it's more than a couple years old, you may need a fresh CMOS battery...it is the big flat battery on the motherboard that keeps the BIOS alive when the machine isn't on. That's where the system clock is stored.

    Comp is two years old, I have seen the CMOS battery.

    How long do they last?



    Bring yourself to the PC's potential first, by firmly touching the power supply inside the case. Unplug the power supply's cord, then just pop the battery out gently with a small screwdriver or a knifetip. You will see a place on the bracket where it has a retention clip...just push that clip away from the battery and it will hop right out for you when it is free of the edge of the battery.

    Take it to any camera counter or PC shop and get a suitable replacement for it. Costs less than $5.00 most places.

    DON'T try to lever it out under any circumstances, as that will probably break the retention bracket - and THAT will cost you the price of a new MOBO.

    K, thanks.

    So go scan it up at Trend, and find out what you need to do next.

    I will in the next 20 hours or so.

    I will see if I can find the patch, thanks.

    Not a Dell. Ibuypower built this one.
     
  12. Zoolander

    Zoolander
    Expand Collapse
    Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    147
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    Thanks. I hope that is it.

    What else does the CMOS battery run???
     
  13. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    If the problem just showed up I'd try the battery first.How old is it?
     
  14. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Oh 2 years old I saw it now.
     
  15. Zoolander

    Zoolander
    Expand Collapse
    Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    147
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    The battery on the motherboard, what is it's function?

    Incase of power failure?
     
  16. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    It holds the CMOS memory,this includes the system clock.It doesn't have much to do with system power.
     
  17. SamBuca

    SamBuca
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    317
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    The clock would NOT be affected by a dead CMOS battery unless you shut the system off. If you leave the system on all the time and experience clock drift, then it's another cause.
     
  18. Zoolander

    Zoolander
    Expand Collapse
    Castrated

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    147
    0
    Location:
    Lurkerville
    fastvfr??