close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

mozilla firefox

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by bryan cc tx, Dec 30, 2004.


  1. bryan cc tx

    bryan cc tx
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    171
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My dad was having problems with pop-ups, I tried to help him out by installing Ad-Aware and Mozilla. Ad-Aware installed and cleaned up the computer great. Mozilla installed but was "unable to connect to mozilla.org" I tried uninstalling and reinstalling it (also tried it with another version) but I was unable to connect to the internet? IE was still installed and I was able to acces with that, but not Mozilla. Is there anything I'm missing?

    He has XP.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. MrsKitty

    MrsKitty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    18,802
    31
    Location:
    >^..^<
    I can't remember now, but did you pick the version with Java? Or is there an option for that?

    Try Opera. I like it better than Firefox although I use both ;) http://www.opera.com/
     

  3. MrsKitty

    MrsKitty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    18,802
    31
    Location:
    >^..^<
    Could you connect to anything? CNN, GT, Yahoo!, google?
     
  4. bryan cc tx

    bryan cc tx
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    171
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    no, i could not connect to anything. not google, GT, or yahoo!
     
  5. MrsKitty

    MrsKitty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    18,802
    31
    Location:
    >^..^<
    I would be more inclined to think that it was a setting of some sort since IE worked. I don't have Firefox on my laptop so I can't look it up here...

    I don't remember having to set anything when I installed it on our other computer though... Is anything else odd going on? You said popup problems. Anything other than that? I am thinking spyware/virus or a conflict of some sort.
     
  6. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    You can try Mozilla 1.7.5 It's not Firefox but it's better than IE and fully functional.Netscape 7.2 comes with all of the plugins and is based on Mozilla.
     
  7. lomfs24

    lomfs24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    2,028
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    How how much crap is installed on your system when you install Netscape now that they are owned by AOHell. Is it basically AOHell rebranded?
     
  8. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    You can choose a "custom" install and leave out the AOL stuff.Also you can delete any of it after installation.I have Netscape for Linux and it doesn't have any AOL stuff in it.It's nice that it comes with all of the plugins and they work.