close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

More RAM - one stick or two?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Tvov, Jan 6, 2005.


  1. Tvov

    Tvov
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2000
    4,460
    309
    Location:
    CT,USA
    Tried search, but with all the threads on RAM I couldn't find an answer to my question.

    I want to increase the RAM on my comp:
    Gateway Pentium IV 2g
    256 RAM
    60g hd
    ATI Radeon 9600Pro graphics card

    I play a lot of HaloPC, Battlefield1942, and a ton of other games. I have read and been told more RAM would improve things.

    I went to Crucial, used the system analysis, and they recommended;
    512mb - CT 258352
    DDR PC2100
    CL=2.5
    Non-ECC
    UnBuffered
    $85.00

    I noticed that in the "other recommendations", there is a;
    1gb - CT 273927
    DDR PC2100
    Non-ECC
    UnBuffered
    for $240.00

    Can I get the same performance with two 512 sticks for $170.00, versus the 1gb stick for $240.00?

    That a pretty good price difference.

    Thanks!
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. SamBuca

    SamBuca
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    317
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    You need to make sure the RAM is supported by your motherboard.

    Make sure it supports the clock speed (like PC2100), the type (DDR), error checking (ECC), and whether it supports buffered or unbuffered. Check the manual.

    If your MB supports up to a gig with those specs, then go for it.
     

  3. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    One stick of 1g will be better than 2 sticks of 512mb.Some motherboards won't work with more than 512mb of memory.If Crucial's sites says a 1g will work it should be okay.
     
  4. Tvov

    Tvov
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2000
    4,460
    309
    Location:
    CT,USA
    The Crucial site said this about my system:

    System Information for the
    Gateway E-4000 Series
    System Type: Desktop Computer
    Maximum memory: 2048MB
    Standard memory: 128, 256, or 512MB removable
    Slots/banks: 2 (2 banks of 1)
    What's best for you?
    Crucial Recommends:
    We recommend a minimum memory total of at least 512MB. And since your Gateway E-4000 Series supports up to 2048MB of memory, you may want to install even more, especially if you work with several programs at a time or use memory-intensive software, such as image-editing software.
    (Keep in mind that sometimes BIOS updates and other hardware configurations can alter memory recommendations
    _____________________________________________________________________

    Maximum memory of 2048MB? Is that right?

    Anyway... What I want to know is, how much better would one stick of 1g be? Would it be $70.00 better? Would I notice that much of a difference with games?
     
  5. NetNinja

    NetNinja
    Expand Collapse
    Always Faithful

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    967
    0
    Location:
    HotLanta, GA
    What operating system are you running?

    Win2k will give you the blue screen of death if you change the memory.
     
  6. Tvov

    Tvov
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2000
    4,460
    309
    Location:
    CT,USA
    Operating system is WinXP
     
  7. SamBuca

    SamBuca
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    317
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    ;Q

    Save yourself the headache later and look at the motherboard manual. It will tell you the actual specs.
     
  8. Garweh

    Garweh
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    325
    12
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    How many slots are populated with RAM now; 1 or 2? If you have an open slot, you may want to keep the existing 256Mb of RAM and add a single 512Mb or 1Gb stick to it. If both slots are used, I think that it is a toss up. The only advantage to 2 sticks is that if 1 stick STB, you MAY still be able to run on the remaining good stick. This may not work on all MB, but has worked for me in the past, so I usually go for 2 sticks of RAM (ie--2 X 512Mb vs 1 X 1GB).
     
  9. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    The big advantage to running one stick is it's all matched.All running at the same temp.One piece a bit faster than two pieces.
     
  10. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Talk about your coincidences!!

    Just today I installed a new modem and a PNY 512MB PC2700 stick into a Gateway computer identical to yours, only this one was the 500s model running XP Home.

    That PC had a single 256MB PC2100 DIMM in it originally, and with the 512MB PNY DIMM installed (WITHOUT the OEM-installed PC2100 133MHz POS) it now does over 2X in Everest benchmarks.

    It ran about 10% faster than previously with both DIMMs installed.

    So it can make quite a large difference. That 2.0 GHz CPU has a 400MHz FSB, so getting PC3200 might have been even better.

    We went for this RAM b/c Staples has it on sale for under $60 per stick!!! Cheaper than most House Brands and a lifetime warranty to boot? Hell yeah.

    Good luck!

    PS. The Staples sale ends Saturday night, BTW...
     
  11. Toyman

    Toyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    2,597
    20
    Location:
    West Michigan
  12. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I don't think there were any pent 4 w/PC2100 that were dual channel.Crucial's website would have mentioned too.PC2700 will work in it.PC2100 is also called 266mhz DDR and PC2700 is also called 333mhz DDR.PC3200 is the same as 400mhz DDR but that's a bit much for that PC.
     
  13. Tvov

    Tvov
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2000
    4,460
    309
    Location:
    CT,USA
    Wow. Helps to open up your computer every so often. I opened my computer this morning, and pulled dust from the vents and inside that made a dust ball that was almost as big as my fist. Whew!

    Anyway. Turns out I have one stick of 256, instead of what I thought were two sticks of 128. That leaves me with an open slot. I think I am going to be conservative, and just get one stick of 256, to bring me up to a total of 512RAM. That should hold me fine until we get a new computer, which will probably be in a year or two.

    Thanks for all your help.