close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Military History

Discussion in 'The Book Rack' started by patton117, May 16, 2005.

1. patton117

patton117
    Expand Collapse

Hello, I am new to Glock Talk and am a history buff. I have read all of Stephen Ambrose's Books (GREAT Author), and am looking for advise on a new Military History author. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. 84S

84S
    Expand Collapse

Take a look at Hampton Sides's "Ghost Soldiers". It's a great read.

3. PaulBk

PaulBk
    Expand Collapse
    Grumpy Grandpa

It depends on what you like. W.E.B. Griffin has a ton of books:

Brotherhood of War series
    The Corps series
    Badge of Honor series (cop)

Each series has between 7-10 novels. His writing is not everyone. Great characters, not much action. His attention to military history and detail is pretty good. I have read them all and enjoyed them tremendously. Give them a try...

-PB

4. Historian

Historian
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Benefactor
    Lifetime Member

That's really an open ended question considering how broad the topic of military history is.

My suggestion, as a WWII nut, is to start with some first hand accounts.

If you like Ambrose's Band of Brothers you might like to know that Parachute Infantry : An American Paratrooper's Memoir of D-Day and the Fall of the Third Reich by David Kenyon Webstern was written by one the "Band of Brothres.

Also Don Burgett's 4 book series on his adventures in WWII is a priceless body of work that belongs in our national archives.

Roll Me Over by RAYMOND GANTTER is another fine book. I really enjoyed this one because of the quality of the writing. He served with the 4th ID.

If you survive by George Wilson is a great book as well. These are just a few of the books I've enjoyed in the last few years.