close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Micro atx 350 or 400 watt power supply?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Gadgetman, Jul 29, 2005.


  1. Gadgetman

    Gadgetman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    196
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Don't ask me how but I ordered a computer and it's on it's way to my house and scheduled to be here next week. Now after more investigation I find out it only has a 300 watt power supply.I need to find a power supply that will fit a Micro atx form factor case that also has a micro atx motherboard that is at least 350 watts.
    I got a good deal on this computer and I new when ordering it that I was going to upgrade the video card. I didn't realize that a Nvidia 6800GT needed at least a 350 watt power supply. The card itself needs 200 to 250 watts of power alone, so I'm told.

    If I can't find a power supply to fit this case I'll either have to:
    1) Send the computer back and be out $100.00 (shipping both ways).

    2) Buy a new case and power supply (400 watts) and put all the new computers guts into the new case along with the 6800 GT.

    3) Keep the computer with the 300 watt power supply and get the best video card that will be compatible with that wattage (any ideas on a card?).


    Thanks

    I forgot to mention the case size is 14.25" X 7.25" X 16".



    ;4 ;4
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. popnfresh

    popnfresh
    Expand Collapse
    dauernd wachsam

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    221
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi
    My case is 14"x14"x7" ID(old emachines case) and I have a 450watt Mad Dog power supply from Comp USA it was around $50 I think.
    It leaves about an inch of space between it and my DVD R/RW drive.
     

  3. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
  4. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    531
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    Get a PS that delivers good amperage on the 12V line. The one in the link supplies 30A on the 12V lines.

    Here is the one I run:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817104150#DetailSpecs

    actually I run the 470W version, but they don't make that one anymore.

    My 470W version supplies 33A on the 12V lines.

    Power hungry video cards need stable 12V with good/great amperage.

    Wattage isn't everything when it comes to PC PS's. Get one that that is of high quality. A quality PS is the very lifeblood of a stable system. Don't be one of these guys that goes out and finds a 500W PS for $39. It will be junk and potentially harmfull to your system.

    The OCZ PS's are of very high quality. They get GREAT reviews. They have a great warranty. They supply great amperage on the 12V line. They offer dedicated 12V, noise shielded, lines to the video card and the hard drive.

    I highly recommend them.
     
  5. Gadgetman

    Gadgetman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    196
    0
    Location:
    Michigan

    I've called the company a half a dozen times since I ordered the computer and I get different answers each time. I guess I'll just have to wait until it arrives to see what size the power supply is. I have heard even though the form factor and motherboard is Micro ATX the power supply could be standard size.

    Also I have looked at more video cards and I found one that will run on 300 watts it's a Radeon X800 Pro 256MB 256 Bit GDDR3. It looks like a pretty good card.



    Edited: Thanks for the link on the 350 watt power supply. In one of the reviews a guy says he runs a 6800GT with no problems with it.
     
  6. Bronson7

    Bronson7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    421
    0
    Location:
    Murray,Kentucky
    I built a micro ATX rig using a micro atx tower (Enlight 300 Watt). I decided to upgrade to a larger ps (I think it's a 425W) and installed a standard atx ps with no problem. Fit the same hole perfectly.
    Bronson7
     
  7. funbob

    funbob
    Expand Collapse
    do a lil' dance

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    271
    0
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    The 6800GT will run just fine on a 300W PSU if you don't have a ton of extra components installed. In a pinch, I ran one on a 250W PSU for a while with no ill effects. Nvidia greatly overstates the power requirements for their cards. You'll get better perormance from a quality PSU rated at a lower wattage than a cheap one rated for more wattage. The key thing to look for, like AZ-Boog said, is amperage on the 12V rail. 18A is the minimum nowadays for a modern system. Wattage is secondary, don't get sucked into the numbers game. You can't go wrong with anything from Antec. OCZ is also excellent.
     
  8. Medievaltech

    Medievaltech
    Expand Collapse
    I need money :)

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    37
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Freedom1955 could you give us a link to the actual computer you ordered?Or at least the model number.That would help out a lot.
    I have always used ANTEC power supplys and cases and never had a problem with them.
     
  9. Gadgetman

    Gadgetman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    196
    0
    Location:
    Michigan

    Gateway 560 GE. It's a new model and not on there site yet.
    P4 64 bit 3.0 ghz.
    1 MB 2L Cache
    915G Express chipset
    800mhz front bus
    512 DDR Pc 3200 400mhz dual channel standard plus the extra gig I ordered fom Tiger Direct.
    250 GB 7200 SATA HD
    8-1 media Manager
    High definition audio
    Double layer 16x dvd burner
    10/100 Ethernet
    Integrated Intel graphics media excelerator 900 64mg. (I no not good)
    Extra slot for PCI Express video card
    300 watt power supply
    Mini tower
    Lots of diferent open ports
    3 extra expansion bays
    Windows XP Home (Good enough for me)
    Keyboard and mouse
     
  10. Gadgetman

    Gadgetman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    196
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    How do I find out this information?
     
  11. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    531
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    The voltage rail specs will be listed on the power supply. Also, when you buy a PS the details regarding amperage for each rail (+3.3V, +5V and +12V) are usually listed.
     
  12. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,604
    857
    Location:
    Indiana
    Been a while since I messed with a Micro ATX case, but I also was thinking they used the same PS.

    IGF
     
  13. Gadgetman

    Gadgetman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    196
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I found out the power supply that comes with my computer has 18v on the 12v rail.

    I also ordered a LeadTek 6800GT 256 Pci express from Newegg. Is that a pretty good card? Will I have any bottle necks with the card and the system I have described?

    Thanks,

    Freedom1955
     
  14. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    531
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    18V? I think you meant 18A and no that won't be sufficent. You need more amperage on the +12V rail.

    Read the links I provided in this thread:http://www.glocktalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=413566

    The 6800GT is a great video card. You need a great PS to support it. Make sure your motherboard has a PCI Express slot and not an AGP slot.
     
  15. 357S

    357S
    Expand Collapse
    Killng time agn

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    99
    0
    Location:
    CDA ID
    Ati Radion X800 XL works fine on a 350 wt supply. I have one. Plays all the games just fine. $259 shipped.
     
  16. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    531
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    maybe and maybe not.

    It all depends what amperage the +12V rail supplies.

    You can't make a blanket statement that a 350W PS will support a high end video card without first ascertaining what amperage the 12V rail supplies.
     
  17. Gadgetman

    Gadgetman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    196
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ya I meant 18amp.
    It has a PCI Express slot.

    I'm going to try using the stock power supply, if I have problems with the video card performing I'll get a better PS.
     
  18. Gadgetman

    Gadgetman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    196
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Well my new puter seemed to run good and my video card performed well with the stock 300 watt PS but just to be on the safe side I purchased and installed a Thermaltake W0057 Purepower ATX 500 watt modular PS.
    I got lucky cause even though my case is pretty small it still took a standard size ATX PS.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Power Supply Help Please Tech Talk Dec 16, 2007
Power supply questions Tech Talk Mar 4, 2006
power supply question Tech Talk Aug 19, 2005
micro atx? Tech Talk Jul 26, 2005
Laptop power supply questions... Tech Talk Jan 22, 2005