close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Memory for IMac?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by wrenrj1, Oct 8, 2010.


  1. wrenrj1

    wrenrj1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    6,872
    156
    Location:
    Huskerville
    I purchased an IMac about six months ago and ordered additional memory according to what was already installed to put in the empty slots. It can take two 2GB DDR3, 1067 MHZ memory sticks, so I order from New Egg. I received it today and went to install it and the memory sticks are twice the length of the currently installed memory. I'm assuming Apple uses laptop memory, correct?

    Anyway, can someone tell me specifically what memory I need to order for the IMac? Thanks.
     
  2. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
    I think the IMac has a laptop processor and laptop memory but has a desktop hard drive. I'm not sure about the video but it may or may not be desktop based. It is a hybrid design. Which IMac model exactly do you have? A lot of Mac memory has special timing and unique notches to prevent PC memory from fitting but some does, though not recommended.
     

    #2 GIockGuy24, Oct 8, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2010
  3. Linux3

    Linux3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    1,399
    0
    Follow this link and fill in the information on your system.
    It will tell you what RAM you need.
    Then go to newegg.com or where ever to purchase by spec's you don't need to buy crucial.

    http://www.crucial.com/
    Or
    http://www.kingston.com/
     
  4. RMD

    RMD
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    1,088
    1
    Location:
    20K dm above the shore
    Correct. The links Linux3 provided will help.