close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

mac pro g5 value

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by SilverBullet_83, Nov 14, 2012.


  1. SilverBullet_83

    SilverBullet_83
    Expand Collapse
    NRA member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    760
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Fl
    Alright techies, I need some info.I just came across a mac pro g5 with 150gb hard drive, 1gb ram and 2ghz processor. Im thinking I want to trade it or sell it to help with the purchase of my next firearm. So, my question is, what would be an expected asking/ selling price? Dont know anything about macs so be easy on me
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. SilverBullet_83

    SilverBullet_83
    Expand Collapse
    NRA member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    760
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Fl
    Hmm. Guess I will give it a shot and see what happens
     

  3. tim12232

    tim12232
    Expand Collapse
    Pistolero

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    662
    0
    Location:
    midwest
    maybe a few hundred dollars? The older Macs are getting to the point where their limitations are starting to be more than their abilities.
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    977
    Location:
    Indiana
    It's a Mac.. so it's worth like 10k at least.. :)

    I agree, old Mac's are starting to show their age. I'd be surprised if you even got a few hundred bucks for it to be honest.
     
  5. Bushflyr

    Bushflyr
    Expand Collapse
    ʇno uıƃuɐɥ ʇsnɾ
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 1999
    3,524
    0
    Location:
    Western WA
    Maybe $50-00 if 1you're really lucky. Anything pre-Intel is SO dated that it's only value less in the case of somebody wants to use it for aa build. IIhave one sitting here ii got for free that's going to be the basis for aaHackintosh build.
     
  6. SilverBullet_83

    SilverBullet_83
    Expand Collapse
    NRA member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    760
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Fl
    I was hoping for between 2-300. Just enough to where with a couple hundred out of pocket I could get my hands on a entry level 1911 or another long gun
     
  7. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    977
    Location:
    Indiana
    You might find the right sucker to pay that. Anyone with common sense will never pay that.
     
  8. Bushflyr

    Bushflyr
    Expand Collapse
    ʇno uıƃuɐɥ ʇsnɾ
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 1999
    3,524
    0
    Location:
    Western WA
    No way. For 6 you can get aa brand new Mac mini that is, literally, 100 times better. Computers are disposable. Especially if they're over about 3 years old.
     
  9. SilverBullet_83

    SilverBullet_83
    Expand Collapse
    NRA member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    760
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Fl
    Not what I wanted to hear, but pretty much expected
     
  10. joe0121

    joe0121
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    48
    0
    Didnt the G5 come with two Processors. I also remember they were a RISC architecture.

    Here is one for sale for $200

    http://www.computerliquidationcenter.com/store/apple-powermac-g5-tower

    the case does look cool and in the day those things were beasts. First ever 64 bit CPU sold to the consumer.

    Edit: yup they where IBM RISC chips. As I recall those CPU's came in IBM Power systems as well.
     
    #10 joe0121, Nov 15, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2012
  11. costanza187

    costanza187
    Expand Collapse
    I like Macs

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    7,636
    804
    Location:
    Indiana
    The G5 processor is going to keep it from being an effective computer... I am thinking no on Chrome, and a lot of other software. It is still usable, but it will be harder and harder to find stuff that runs on it.

    Some schmo might pay for it because it has an apple on it, but it is not going to be worth much. That said, I have an old G4 that still works, but it is just slooooooow, and I don't think it will run any current web browser. (yes you can still use a web browser but limited to old versions).