close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Looking to move to Seattle in jan.

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by nursetim, Nov 27, 2011.

1. nursetim

nursetim

Looking to move to seattle soon. What areas should I look at or avoid? What are rental prices like?

Thanks for the help

2. Defender77

Defender77

Bremerton, WA is a beautiful place though the houses tend to be on the old side.

It's accessible by ferry and goes to Seattle.

3. gunslinger3

gunslinger3 Μολὼν λαβέ

Where are you working?

4. BailRecoveryAgent

BailRecoveryAgent Rude Member

Avoid anything near Ranier or MLK way, unless you like drive by's and gang shootouts, and anything requiring a ferry ride to get places.

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

5. nursetim

nursetim

I do not have a job just yet. I don't even have the licenses I need yet. I am a nurse practitioner.

6. brausso

brausso

If you are wanting to live in the city, most of the hospitals in downtown are in an area called capitol hill. Not sure what kind of scene you're looking for, but that area isn't really my cup of tea. I'd suggest Queen Anne or Belltown areas. Rent prices are going to be higher than what you're paying now in NM, so I'm not sure what you're budget is.

7. NW-Warlord

NW-Warlord

8. carbuncle

carbuncle is not cool.

I agree with that!

Shoreline/Edmonds is a nice area just north of the city, about 12-15 miles from downtown, near the water, ferries to the peninsula, shopping, decent schools in most areas and the rent is much cheaper in Snohomish County than it is in King County.

9. Deanster

Deanster Cheese? Millennium Member CLM

Lots of choices.

The big concentration of hospitals is on First Hill, just east of Downtown. Swedish Medical Center, Harborview Medical Center (Level I Trauma Center) are all within blocks of each other, as well as the Medical/Dental building downtown, where 100 or so doctors/dentists maintain private practices.

http://g.co/maps/6wy6c