close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Looking for a new wireless router

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Specks, Nov 11, 2010.


  1. Specks

    Specks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    267
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    I'm looking for a new wireless router. I currently have a DLink DL-624 that is starting to give me problems, random resets, finicky with VPN and Xbox Live.

    I see this one at BestBuy that has a good rating.

    NetGear - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch

    It's a little overkill as I don't have any laptops with wireless-N cards and my desktop is 10/100Mbps, not 1Gbps, so I could upgrade my desktop/laptops as necessary. I see it is also supported by dd-wrt which I don't have any experience using but I hear good things about.

    What would you recommend? Going with something that has wireless-N and gigabit ethernet or sticking with wireless-G and 10/100 ethernet?

    I have one desktop, a printer that is 10/100 ethernet capable, 2 laptops with wireless-G cards, 1 Xbox360 with wireless-G adapter, and 2 android phones that connect to the wireless.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,696
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    I can't speak to the router you posted, but I've been happy w/ this one...

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...CODE=GOOGLEBASE&cm_mmc_o=VRqCjC7BBTkwCjCECjCE

    It regularly has:
    My Wired PC
    2 Laptops
    1 Netbook
    2 Zunes
    1 Printer..

    It has given me no issue at all. I don't live in the Taj Mahal, and the range is fine. The router/Modem is in my attic, I routinely use my netbook in the basement, and our laptops on the main floor, w/o issue.

    IGF
     

  3. wrenrj1

    wrenrj1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    6,870
    155
    Location:
    Huskerville
    I've got a Linksys router that's about five-years old. I've started to migrate towards Apple, first with the purchase of an IMac, and will probably go with the Apple AirPort router soon. It can be used with a PC as well.
     
  4. mattyk6

    mattyk6
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    149
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    My understanding is that if you do get a N router and a single N wireless card with everything else in G, you will still need run the N router in a mode that allows G devices to connect. When you do that, all devices will connect at G speeds, so you lose the speed advantage on the N device. You may be better off to buy a newer G router.

    Either way, your router will be faster than your internet connection. Your only advantage would be on device to device wireless transfers.
     
  5. W4CNG

    W4CNG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    816
    0
    Location:
    In the Gun Room
    Linksys has G routers that are backward compitabile which means you can use them now and later. Good stuff at Best Buy!
     
  6. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,951
    137
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    I just picked up a D-Link DIR 655 and I am *very* pleased with it so far...

    Took a bit to get used to the interface, but it came together quickly and didn't hardly interrupt the network.

    It replaced a Netgear WNR2000 that just kept dropping wireless after a year or so.

    Came highly rated, Gamers like em, and Gigabit Ports too!

    Price wasn't that bad, but it wasn't cheap either!

    HTH
     
  7. sigman69

    sigman69
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    1,267
    14
    Location:
    Belton, Missouri, USA
    have a d-link and it is much faster and works than the linksys I had in the past.
     
  8. handyman

    handyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    1,360
    11
    The Dec issue of MAXIMUM PC has the high end router shoot out the Netgear Rangemax V1 scored a 9.
     
  9. Drjones

    Drjones
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    6,134
    13
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States

    Just finished writing an Amazon review for that Netgear unit.

    Bottom line: it is a very nice device, but there is a firmware bug that prevents you from using two of them in a base/repeater configuration to extend the range of your wireless network. So unless you need that functionality, get it.

    Absolutely get "N" and Gigabit - G and 10/100 is outdated technology and will simply be a bottleneck going forward. No sense in buying old tech...
     
  10. Drjones

    Drjones
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    6,134
    13
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States

    N routers are by default backwards compatible with a, b, and g devices.

    You *can* set most of them to run only in one mode or another, but I have no clue why you'd want to do that...

    Out of the box, you will be fine and all your devices will connect.

    I did have an issue with one client who had a weird, generic USB wireless G adapter that kept dropping the connection to their new Cisco N router...bought him a new N cisco/linksys adapter and all is well.
     
  11. alba666

    alba666
    Expand Collapse
    WWJGD

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    672
    0
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Will it do WDS as a base with some other device as a repeater (like with an Apple Airport Express)? My 1/2TB Apple Time Capsule died and I looking for a replacement.
     
  12. Drjones

    Drjones
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    6,134
    13
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States

    No clue but I wouldn't bet on it because of that firmware bug.

    If you've already got other Apple networking gear, I'd keep it all the same - Apple stuff plays pretty nicely together.
     
  13. alba666

    alba666
    Expand Collapse
    WWJGD

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    672
    0
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Yeah, its pretty idiot-proof. I got the old WRT54G with DD-WRT handling the WDS link, but I need to move it back to the entertainment center at some point.
     
  14. Specks

    Specks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    267
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Thanks for your comments Drjones. I don't need a base/repeater setup so that won't be an issue. I agree that getting gigabit and N is the way to go, it's the timing of spending more right now with x-mas right around the corner. I'll probably deal with the issues with my current router until after the holidays.