close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Linksys Wireless-B router security help

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by M1A Shooter, Jul 15, 2011.


  1. M1A Shooter

    M1A Shooter
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    3,605
    1
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    i have a hp laptop thats connected through a motorola dsl modem to a linksys wireless b router. i cant find anything useful on getting this setup for a secure network. i am running windows vista if that helps. this is a new router but has no paperwork. i got it from my dad.

    any ideas?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. eracer

    eracer
    Expand Collapse
    Where's my EBT?

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    6,711
    2
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Look up the model number listed on the router. Go to the Cisco website (Cisco owns LinkSys.) Find the owner's manual.

    Set it up with the highest level of encryption available. Turn off SSID Broadcast when you are set up.

    Recognize that you still don't have a 'secure' wireless network.
     

  3. GAFinch

    GAFinch
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    5,911
    27
    Location:
    Georgia
    -Find the online manual like he said.
    -Main protection is using WPA2 encryption if all your devices support it. If one of them doesn't, replace it. Don't use WEP passwords.
    -Change the router's login and password from admin/admin to something unique. You can write the new login/password on the router itself.
    -Don't bother using the MAC address whitelist option, it's a pain and is easily circumvented.
    -Use passwords that are at least 8 characters. Make sure they include at least one number.
     
  4. dotsun

    dotsun
    Expand Collapse
    conf t

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    1,196
    29
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    Good advice, also change your ssid to something unique. I would also recommend way more than 8 characters. I use a 29 letter sentence that's easy to remember.

    Those are some really old outdated links there GG24.
     
  5. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,693
    981
    Location:
    Indiana
    :agree:

    My Network WPA2password (to get on my wireless network) is 60 characters (why i didn't make it 64, i don't know.. :)).

    Cracking a long password, since cracking these Non-WEP passwords usually takes a lot of time, will usually cause someone to move on.

    Changing the login/password of the router itself, is also critical. I have a friend that setup WPA2, etc.. then left her login and password to her router, the default. That's just silly. Use a good strong password for the router also.

    I also agree that WEP is totally useless, and if something on your network doesn't support WPA2, just replace that device. (sounds like you'll likely need a new router as well, if its only wireless A/B).

    IGF
     
  6. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,794
    10
    I would be surprised if an ancient B router actually supports WPA2, even with the latest firmware.
     
  7. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
    Wireless B doesn't support WAP2. It doesn't support WAP. It does support WEP and other than somebody trying to hack into it, it will keep out the neighbors from casually connecting and snooping around or maybe doing something illegal using your internet connection.
     
  8. GAFinch

    GAFinch
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    5,911
    27
    Location:
    Georgia
    That's a good point.

    OP, if your router only supports WEP, you can disable SSID broadcasting to make it mostly invisible, but, if a techie does detect your network, they'll be able to crack your password in 5 minutes. Definitely check for a firmware update, though, as some routers did get WPA added.
     
    #9 GAFinch, Jul 16, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011
  9. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,693
    981
    Location:
    Indiana
    I wonder if flashing it w/ dd-wrt would make WPA available?
     
  10. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps