close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

"Limited Connectivity"

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by T4A, May 28, 2009.


  1. T4A

    T4A
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    23
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I get this message on my laptop, and it kicks me off the internet. Sometimes it will last 60 minutes before doing it, sometimes it lasts 2 minutes. I have xp on my home computer and vista on my laptop, but can't figure out why I can't keep the connection. It ALWAYS boots me off, just a matter of when. Any ideas?
    Thanks
    Todd
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. grokdesigns

    grokdesigns
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    507
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Have you updated the drivers for your wireless card and updated the firmware for your router?
     

  3. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Is it just happening on the laptop or on your desktop as well? I get this occasionally when my ISP craps out.

    If it's just your laptop then make sure you have updated your wireless drivers and firmware as grok suggested. Sounds like your getting some signal interference to me...signal strength good?
     
  4. T4A

    T4A
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    23
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    It only happens on my laptop.Signal strength is good while its running, then when it says "limited connectivity it only has one bar" I'll try updating my drivers as suggested.
     
  5. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    A few more questions for you ...

    How far is the laptop from the router when it happens?

    Do you have any other wireless equipment like cordless phones, Bluetooth devices?

    What's between the router and the laptop?

    What brand and model router are you using?
     
  6. T4A

    T4A
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    23
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I updated the network driver and that seems to have been the problem. Thanks guys.
     
  7. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,690
    979
    Location:
    Indiana
    Thats what I was thinking... I've found whenever I get this error its always a problem before the cable modem.
     
  8. NGWT

    NGWT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    358
    0
    Location:
    FL
    You found your answer but I'll throw this out there.

    I have desktop with a USB wireless 'N' card. Works great. Every so often it would lose connectivity. Drove me bonkers. Finally figured it out.

    Every time I would turn off or disconnect something from the USB bus, it would reset the network adapter.

    Haven't figure out how to fix it yet, but at least now I can prepare for it. Luckily I don't connect/disconnect stuff from my USB often.
     
  9. T4A

    T4A
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    23
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    worked fine yesterday, but when i try to watch video online it goes out. it's a d-link wbr-1310. maybe it's not a high speed router? i got it from my in laws.
     
  10. Tennessee Slim

    Tennessee Slim
    Expand Collapse
    Señor Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    4,413
    0
    Location:
    Mucus City, USA
    What sort of authentication are you using? When I see the limited connectivity message, I usually find the NIC is connected to the WAP but isn't authenticated.
     
  11. T4A

    T4A
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    23
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    How would i check this?