close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Laptop Shuts Down / Memory Faults?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Stephen, Jan 20, 2005.


  1. Stephen

    Stephen
    Expand Collapse
    Hola!
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 1999
    379
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    All,

    My laptop suddenly shut down earlier this evening. The MS error report said that there may have been a memory issue and to do a diagnostic test (http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp) which I did.

    I found that I had 2 'addresses' that were bad.

    Question is - what does this mean and how do I fix/solve this?

    TIA--
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Stephen

    Stephen
    Expand Collapse
    Hola!
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 1999
    379
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Oh, the addresses (if it matters) were:

    01706ffc
    018d6ffc

    Thanks!
     

  3. Stephen

    Stephen
    Expand Collapse
    Hola!
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 1999
    379
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    OK - it just happened again and there was the dreaded blue screen of death with a bunch of text. The screen flashed blue for a second before the machine shut down.

    The only thing that has changed from yesterday is an autmatic update from McAfee AV software.

    Running XP Pro - 512 MB RAM with a 1.4Mhz P4 (Pentium M)
     
  4. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Are any of the RAM modules new? Has ANY hardware been changed out recently?

    How hot is it getting? Is it running from the battery or from a power brick?

    If by charger, is the machine getting power from the wall or from a UPS?
     
  5. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    i bet it's a driver problem.

    right click "my computer" -> properties -> advanced -> startup and recovery ->settings

    under "system failure"
    uncheck "automatically restart"

    the blue screen will give more info on which file/program is causing the error.

    i've had that happen with video card drivers.
     
  6. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    another option may be:

    start -> run -> cmd

    type in "chkdsk" at the dos prompt and let it do it's thing.
     
  7. Stephen

    Stephen
    Expand Collapse
    Hola!
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 1999
    379
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Unchecked the auto restart.

    Did the chkdsk:
    I did disable McAfee and the laptop is running just fine..
     
  8. Stephen

    Stephen
    Expand Collapse
    Hola!
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 1999
    379
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    No.

    No.

    Not terribly hot - running off of power 'brick' (no UPS). The first time the machine died - it was only on for 3 to 5 minutes. It's now been up for 90 minutes-ish since disabling McAfee.