close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

KY CCW question

Discussion in 'Bluegrass Glockers' started by TCKDRVR20, Feb 16, 2008.

1. TCKDRVR20

TCKDRVR20
    Expand Collapse
    Infidel

Hey guys, i'm a Kentucky resident considering aquiring a CCW permit, in fact i'm going to take the handgun safety class (6hour + range) thats required prior to applying for the permit as soon as my new holster arrives. Question I have is after the trainging course will I have to take another course to get the permit?

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Berretta9

Berretta9
    Expand Collapse

Nope, you take and pass the CCW class. In two weeks or so you get a certificate that says you took and passed ( you'd have to be really lame not to pass ) the class. You take that certificate with some more money to the sheriff of you county and in 30 or so days you get a notice that you can pick it up. Are you near Louisville ?

3. TCKDRVR20

TCKDRVR20
    Expand Collapse
    Infidel

Great. Nah I'm close to Pikeville but the wife & I frequent Louisville.

4. Hamrhed

Hamrhed
    Expand Collapse
    AKs & Glocks

Our class was a work group of about 10 folks who took about a 3-4 hour class (instruction/videos/written test), and then some live fire practice before the target test (must hit 13 of 20 shots from about 7 yards)... Our instructor was excellent, and several of our group qualified w/ Highpoint 9mms- I used a G23 :whistling:

5. Captain38

Captain38
    Expand Collapse

ACTUALLY, passing is hitting the silhouette a minimum of ELEVEN (11) times out of twenty (20)! Also, you needn't wait for that new holster as all shooting is done with you beginning at a low ready stand-by position with your handgun already in your hand(s).

6. TCKDRVR20

TCKDRVR20
    Expand Collapse
    Infidel