close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Knoppix Rescue Stories

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by srhoades, Nov 1, 2004.

  1. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,806
    Likes Received:
    15
    Just bought a bigger compact flash card for my camera. After taking 30 pictures or so went to download them off the camera. Windows is telling me that I need to format the drive. Yeah right. Boot from a Knoppix cd, mount the usb deivce, copy the pictures to a mounted fat32 partition and done.

    How has Knoppix saved you?
     
  2. DragonRider

    DragonRider

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    Used it this weekend to save another teachers files on a hard drive, had an original install of Win 2000 since 1999 that had gone bad for a number of reasons.

    John
     

  3. lomfs24

    lomfs24

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    Used the Knoppix-STD version to get rid of a password on BIOS that someone had put there.
     
  4. DonL

    DonL

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    What application on K-STD does that??
     
  5. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    I used Knoppix to remove a virus from a computer once. Iv youe ven clicked the file the computer crashed. Couldnt delete it via command line, and there were no processes to kill.

    Check out Damn Small Linux, its Knoppix based, and friggin tiny. I now prefer it to Knoppix.
     
  6. lomfs24

    lomfs24

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    It is in the password tools shell and it is called cmospwd
     
  7. grantglock

    grantglock /dev/null

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I used it to recover 1500 email accounts from a server that would no longer boot due to corrupted files. Saved my day.
     
  8. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    For removing broken or infected files, for reclaiming data from scratched CD's, for diagnosing HW problems, and for running network security checks, it is indispensable.

    I use it several times a week, on average.

    However, the newer kernel in Kanotix does tend to be more useful with cutting-edge machines, due to better Hotplug support for the newer hardware.

    Best regards,

    FastVFR
     
  9. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I'm using Kanotix 9A installed on my hard drive.I also have Knoppix 3.7 Professional.Mepis 2004.04 works really well too.
     
  10. lomfs24

    lomfs24

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    Has anyone had success with using apt-get after installing Knoppix to a hardrive? Every time I have tried it it crashes halfway through and then apt-get never works because it is trying to start from where it crashed.
     
  11. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Yes it works with the latest Knoppix.I had problems also with 3.4 and earlier releases.I can't remember if it worked in 3.6 but 3.7 looks like 3.6 with a firewall.Kanotix can make the transition to full Debian easier.Apt-get update should work.I used to have problens with apt-get upgrade but with 3.7 it hasn't crashed my system.
     
  12. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    I have no sound with Knoppix 3.6 and 3.7 but sound works for me in Kanotix 9A.I have an older sound card that wasn't previopusly supported by ALSA until ALSA 1.5.
     
  13. lomfs24

    lomfs24

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    I just did a quick look at knopper.net and all I saw was 3.6, Where did you find 3.7?
     
  14. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    3.7 is a special release for a German magazine.It's starts in German but has all of the languages on it.The German keyboard map is different so you must find the proper keys to switch the boot into English.I think 3.6 will work just as well as 3.7 but the sound problems are on both and they reconize my sound card.When I installed 3.6 it switched to a gerneric KDE, non Knoppix desktop.3.7 keeps the Knoppix desktop.
     
  15. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    3.7 has the same kernel as 3.6.I found 3.7 on an FTP server as a remaster.It works great.
     
  16. lomfs24

    lomfs24

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
  17. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    To boot into English enter "knoppix26 lang=en" This won't be the correct keys.The keys were around P and zero plus shift.Maybe you can locate a German keymap online to help out.I had to do it by trial and error.
     
  18. lomfs24

    lomfs24

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Montana
    If I remember right from another lesser version you can boot into the GUI and then there is or was an icon that allowed you to change language.
     
  19. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Also for the hard drive install knoppix has a newer installer called "for the beginner" or something like that.Some people,including Kanotix,recomend the older method Debian install.When I tried the Debian install and it didn't configure my network card.The newer installer works perfectly.I recomend the newer installer.The third method is installing the CD to run live from the hard drive.This is not a good working OS and can't be modified or updated/upgraded.Knoppix recomends the newer installer too.The live CD type install is only a bit faster than running from CD and saves space as it's only 700 Mbs.The full working install uses about 2Gigs.
     
  20. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    The problem when booting with 3.7 is that it's a German disk for German keyboards.The boot comands are still English though but you must locate the proper keys.You'll see when you start typing.