Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Forum at

Why should YOU join our forums?

• Reason #1
  • Reason #2
  • Reason #3

Site Description

Keeping HD shotgun loaded?

Discussion in 'Tactical Shotguns' started by CourtCop, Oct 17, 2010.

1. CourtCop

CourtCop Millennium Member

Feb 21, 1999
    Brodheadsville, PA
    My wife just bought me a Remington 870 Synthetic and as I am new to shotguns I would like to know how all of you keep yours loaded for that "bump in the night" scenario.

Should it be:
    A)chamber loaded, magazine loaded, safety on
    B)chamber loaded, magazine loaded, safety off
    C)chamber empty, magazine loaded, safety on
    D)chamber empty, magazine loaded, safety off

I am leaning toward "C"

I should mention I will also be using a trigger lock until I can pick up a better means of securing it from my two little girls. The Mossberg Lock Box, ShotLock and TufLoc are all possibilities. Anybody have a preference there?

Thanks in advance guys.
  2. Havasu

Dec 19, 2009
    LHC, Arizona
    I'm a "D". Living alone matters.

3. KK40384

Jun 19, 2009
    D as long as you don't have kids snooping around that could get a hold of it.
  4. bklynpete

bklynpete Viet Nam Vet

May 15, 2009
    Albuquerque, NM
    OK, I've never owned a HD shotgun, actually the only one I have is a Stoeger that I used for Cowboy action shooting. I would think choice A, but I see alot of keeping the chamber empty on posts. Why? I wouldn't think of keeping my HD weapon with an empty chamber. Just want to know the reasoning behind this. I of course don't have kids in my home.

5. aippi

Jun 12, 2009