close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Java issues with Firefox

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Ljunatic, Dec 25, 2004.

  1. Ljunatic

    Ljunatic On The Fringe

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Today AVG 7 free edition found 3 infected .zip files in the SUN java cache. I updated to the latest version and cleared the cache and that cleaned out the infection, But I got to wondering If I even need the Java console if I am using Firefox.

    The question:
    Can I just remove the Java program when using Firefox exclusively? Does FF have it's own java plugin?

    I read there were issues with earlier version of JAVA.
     
  2. SamBuca

    SamBuca

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    Both IE and Firefox require a Java VM for Java apps. The MS one was discontinued...reinstall the one from Sun.
     

  3. Ljunatic

    Ljunatic On The Fringe

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    I got er done.
    Installed the latest version

    Thanks Sam
     
  4. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    With ANY version of Java Runtime, you need to do two things:

    In the Control Panel, open the Java Icon. Click the Cache tab and disable it, then click Apply.

    Next, open the Updates tab and Disable updates. Apply the change.

    No more pr0n virii for you!!;) ;b
     
  5. Ljunatic

    Ljunatic On The Fringe

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Thank you.

    I had already shut down the caching feature and the updates were off by default.