close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Israeli Carry

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by stevemc, Nov 16, 2011.

1. stevemc

stevemc
    Expand Collapse

I am wondering about opinions on this method. I would like to hear from people who have had "real world" experience, like cops or someone who has had to draw due to extreme circumstances. What was the timing like. Do you think it made a difference that the firearm was ready to go immediately. It is my own opinion that training to rack the slide while drawing is just as good as keeping it ready to fire all the time, with possible life saving benefits of avoiding ND by yourself or others, but I have zero experience in a situation.

[Moderator Note and Warning - Folks, before you post, read all the other posts in this thread, all of them. This is not another "beating a dead horse" thread.

If you choose to not read the thread, not make a positive contribution to the discussion, and you just post the dead horse emoticon, you'll receive an infraction for trolling.]

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 stevemc, Nov 16, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 26, 2011
  2. TangoFoxtrot

TangoFoxtrot
    Expand Collapse
    OIF 04-05

Good luck on this one. There are many schools of thought on this subject.

3. RussP

RussP
    Expand Collapse

#3 RussP, Nov 16, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
  4. ithaca_deerslayer

ithaca_deerslayer
    Expand Collapse

I have no cop or gunfight experience. Fortunately, my real world hasn't involved either of those two things :rofl:

But as to your premise, you really have to decide what is important to you.
    -- Is unchambered as fast to draw as chambered? No.
    -- Is unchambered fast enough in an emergency situation? Maybe.
    -- Is unchambered the same as carrying a paper weight? No.
    -- Is racking the slide by hand more likely to create a jam? Yes.