close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Is my hard drive going bad?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by southernshooter, Apr 2, 2009.


  1. southernshooter

    southernshooter
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    3,148
    57
    Location:
    Columbia, S.C.
    On the computer end of the ethernet cable that runs from the cable modem to the computer there is a green light that is on when internet ready. Sometimes the green light goes out and I can't get on the net. I can unplug it and plug it back in and it will usually come back on. Rather annoying in the middle of a movie etc.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. steve1988

    steve1988
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    1,595
    26
    Location:
    Ft. Meade, MD
    I highly doubt that you have a hard drive problem. The most likely problem (and the easiest and cheapest to fix, fortunately) is a bad ethernet cable. I would recommend replacing it. After that, things get more complex and a call to a tech support service may be in order. I hope this helps.
     

  3. Blitzer

    Blitzer
    Expand Collapse
    Cool Cat

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    12,111
    0
    Location:
    The communist's play ground of OHIO
    Ditto. The PC/CPU is the big box, a hard drive is a part in the big box.
     
  4. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    It could be the cable, your network card or the modem. I'd start with the cable company, check and see if there have been any problems with the Internet in your area. If not you can replace the cable and the cable modem and lastly the NIC.
     
  5. AmbulanceMonkee

    AmbulanceMonkee
    Expand Collapse
    Medic

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    550
    0
    Location:
    On a street corner
    Replace the cable first. If your cable company is anything like mine, it's going to take a week plus to get a tech out. In the interim, if replacing the cable doesn't help, try connecting the PC to the modem with usb, instead of rj45, and see if it works consistently.
     
  6. southernshooter

    southernshooter
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    3,148
    57
    Location:
    Columbia, S.C.
    Naturally I have tried 5 different cable. It is the light in the computer that is going out.
     
  7. costanza187

    costanza187
    Expand Collapse
    I like Macs

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    7,636
    804
    Location:
    Indiana
    I am not an expert by any means, but to me it sounds like a problem with your network card.
     
  8. Brently

    Brently
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    66
    0
    Location:
    Kapolei, Hawaii
    Go into device manager and try to reload the drivers for the NIC... Otherwise you are gonna have to get a new one... Relatively easy install if you can use a phillips and follow prompts...
     
  9. MavsX

    MavsX
    Expand Collapse
    The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    3,033
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    You can pick up a new network card for cheap man! They are called NIC's (network interface card)

    look for PCI network cards. You install them, load drivers from the CD and boom. You use the new network jack on the card, instead of the integrated network jack on the motherboard, which is what you are using now!

    Do it. Good Luck.
     
  10. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    By chance do you have a laptop, or have a friend that has one that you could connect to the cable modem to rule it out as the problem?

    You can get a new NIC at Best Buy for under $20
     
  11. southernshooter

    southernshooter
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    3,148
    57
    Location:
    Columbia, S.C.
    Guess I should have mentioned a new modem was the second thing I tried after different cables. (easy, since they are "free" exchange at twc.)
     
  12. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Yes that would have been helpful, you've ruled out the cable and the modem so that leaves the NIC or some software issue.
     
  13. manish07

    manish07
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    40
    0
    No, its not problem in your hard drive. check your ram first.
     
  14. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    ?????