close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

iPhone/iTunes Help Please :)

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ExxoticOne, Sep 18, 2010.


  1. ExxoticOne

    ExxoticOne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    16,858
    0
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL & Houston, TX
    Is there any way to get the songs from an old laptop onto my iPhone without an internet connection? :dunno: Any replies will be sincerely appreciated.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,793
    10
    Perhaps I don't understand the question. iTunes does not require an internet connection to sync.
     

  3. ExxoticOne

    ExxoticOne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    16,858
    0
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL & Houston, TX
    Oh, it is certainly not you. OK on my laptop NOT connected to the internet, I can play my music. I just click iTunes and get into the application and under "purchased" I see and can play all my songs on the laptop.

    I want to get those songs onto my iPhone.

    And thank you. :wavey:
     
  4. Jai9100

    Jai9100
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    379
    0
    Location:
    Metro area, MN
    Since you said "old laptop", i'm guessing its not the laptop which you sync your iphone with normally, right?

    I'm also trying hard to "find the problem"...:dunno:
     
  5. ExxoticOne

    ExxoticOne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    16,858
    0
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL & Houston, TX
    Thank you very much for trying to help me! I want to take songs that are on my old laptop in itunes and put them on my iphone sans the internet connection.

    I suck at this :crying:
     
  6. Jai9100

    Jai9100
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    379
    0
    Location:
    Metro area, MN
    We know, you said that.


    The things we need to know are:

    1-Do you have a computer you currently sync your iphone with?

    2-Is your "old laptop" the computer I mentioned in question 1, or not?

    Side question, why can't you use an internet connection?
     
  7. ScarFace88

    ScarFace88
    Expand Collapse
    WINNING

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    4,918
    0
    Location:
    Living Charlie Sheen's Dream
    If it's like an Ipod, there should be a USB cable that you use to connect to your computer and transfer songs or other stuff to the device.
     
  8. ExxoticOne

    ExxoticOne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    16,858
    0
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL & Houston, TX
    The things we need to know are:

    1-Do you have a computer you currently sync your iphone with?

    Yes however I have no internet - problem with Sierra Wireless.

    2-Is your "old laptop" the computer I mentioned in question 1, or not?

    My old laptop has the same problem as above...no internet. All my songs are on the old laptop.

    I am posting from my iphone.

    Thank you again.
     
  9. ExxoticOne

    ExxoticOne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    16,858
    0
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL & Houston, TX
    Doublepost.
     
    #9 ExxoticOne, Sep 18, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2010
  10. ExxoticOne

    ExxoticOne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    16,858
    0
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL & Houston, TX
    Thats what I thought but I don't know what to do to make that happen. I can connect the two but then what?

    Thank you!
     
  11. Jai9100

    Jai9100
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    379
    0
    Location:
    Metro area, MN
    The thing is, Iphones sync with only one itunes at a time.

    If you sync with another itunes library, all your content will be deleted. All your music and photos, etc.. will be deleted and your old laptop's music/photos will be loaded onto your iphone.

    Can't you boot up you old laptop, use a thumb drive to transfer the music onto your current computer?
     
  12. ExxoticOne

    ExxoticOne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    16,858
    0
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL & Houston, TX
    That is exactly what I will do....now I get what the issue is. THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH FOR YOUR TIME! :wavey:
     
  13. Jai9100

    Jai9100
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    379
    0
    Location:
    Metro area, MN
    Do you want to transfer protected .m4p to your new computer? If you bought music from itunes with your old computer, you may need to convert them to .mp3 before they will play/transfer successfully. Let us know after the transfer, if thats the case.
     
  14. ExxoticOne

    ExxoticOne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    16,858
    0
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL & Houston, TX
    Will do, thanks and have a good evening.
     
  15. TBO

    TBO
    Expand Collapse
    Why so serious?
    CLM
    1. The Outpost Lounge

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    43,076
    12,031
    Location:
    3500 Cedar Ave S. Minneapolis, MN 55407
    EO, I REALLY feel for you, I really do.

    This is why I am trying to wean my wife off i Pod, because of i Tunes.

    Because of Apple's DRM protection, if i Tunes thinks you are a different person, because of different hardware, you are locked out.

    This means that allllllllll the previous i Tunes MP4's you've paid for... are lost.

    <------freely admits that:

    i tunes is a very simple/efficient piece of software for must-to-device interface.
    i Pod/Touch devices are very good.

    That said, the DRM issue is a KILLER.

    <-----bought a Samsung Sansa 8GB for himself, with the intent of converting said wife.

    (sorry for the micro-rant)

    TBO
     
  16. Jai9100

    Jai9100
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    379
    0
    Location:
    Metro area, MN
    Everything you said is true, but you can fairly easily, convert protected .m4ps to (free&easy) .mp3s.

    The trick is to not continue buying from iTunes after converting. Amazon mp3 is a thing of beauty
     
  17. kingclassic

    kingclassic
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    451
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I have music that I purchased and paid for on ITunes but could not use it on my Garmin with an MP3 player or the CD player that plays MP3s on my MC. I could only use it on my IPhone or computer or burned to a standard music CD.


    Burn your purchased music to a CD from ITunes then eject the disk. Set the import preferences in ITunes to "Import Using MP3 Encoder", insert the CD and import. You now have music that you own converted to MP3 that you can play on any devices that you own that can play MP3s.
     
    #17 kingclassic, Sep 19, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2010
  18. ExxoticOne

    ExxoticOne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    16,858
    0
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL & Houston, TX
    I think your rant is totally warranted. I am a Mac enthusiast but this iTunes thing has really irritated me. I have 2 Mac laptops and a Dell at work...I should (in my mind) be able to hook-up on any piece of equipment, anywhere.
     
  19. ExxoticOne

    ExxoticOne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    16,858
    0
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL & Houston, TX
    Good! I will check them out.
     
  20. ExxoticOne

    ExxoticOne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    16,858
    0
    Location:
    Belleair Beach, FL & Houston, TX
    Thanks for posting this!