close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and.........

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by M2 Carbine, Jun 10, 2009.


  1. M2 Carbine

    M2 Carbine
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    21,285
    4,260
    Location:
    Texas
    I have a problem that's causing my web pages to intermittently shut down.

    As aggravating as that problem is the pop up "Internet Explorer has encountered a problem........" box is even more aggravating.

    It seems that years ago I found a way to stop that pop up box, but I can't find how to do it again.
    Anyone know?

    I'm using Win XP.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. JMag

    JMag
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    6,797
    804
    Location:
    USA:Love it or leave!
    M2C, don't take this wrong, but IE is a problem. Actually, it's full of problems both real and potential. I can't help with the problem outside of advising you to look into a better, faster, and more secure alternative (Firefox, Opera, etc.).

    Good luck.
     

  3. MavsX

    MavsX
    Expand Collapse
    The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    3,033
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    m2. can the webpage run with firefox? There are a few websites that only work with IE, in which case i will use IE for that particular page..but for everything else...it's firefox. With firefox gaining market share and acceptablilty...people are making their web pages firefox friendly.

    check it out man. i was a big hater of firefox forwhile...now i would never go back to IE.

    Good Luck!
     
  4. Mak Maven

    Mak Maven
    Expand Collapse
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    333
    0
    Location:
    Apopka, Fl. Bears at your doorstep.
    M2.....

    Exactly what's been said so far.
    I am happy with Firefox.
    Only IE when certain web pages don't work well with FF.
    Example Photobucket, web hosting site for photos, gifs etc.
     
  5. JohnBT

    JohnBT
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Patron

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    5,286
    103
    Location:
    Richmond, Virginia
    "the pop up"

    I'll ask our systems engineer and our man of many talents pc tech when they come in. Me, I don't know.

    Don't you love the folks who think you've never heard of Firefox or some other browser and preach it like it's the word from the burning bush? :)

    John
     
  6. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    You two can stop using IE altogether by adding the IE Tabs extension for Firefox ...

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419
     
  7. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    To disable script debugging, start IE - On the Tools menu, select Internet Options - then the Advanced tab, under the Browsing section, click to select the Disable script debugging (Internet Explorer) check box and the Disable script debugging (Other) check box if it is present - Click OK, and then restart your computer.
     
  8. MavsX

    MavsX
    Expand Collapse
    The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    3,033
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
  9. grokdesigns

    grokdesigns
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    507
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    This still uses the IE rendering engine, so any security risks present in IE are inherently present when using the IE Tab extension.
     
  10. M2 Carbine

    M2 Carbine
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    21,285
    4,260
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for the info and advice guys, I appreciate it.

    Foxfire.
    I tried it maybe three years ago. I don't remember exactly the troubles I had but there were a lot. It looked slick and I thought I was going to like it but it was a disaster. Possibly it would work fine for me now but I'd better stick with what's been doing, up to now, a good job.
    This would be a deal breaker. I'm big into Photobucket.

    Can FF be installed along with IE, so that either one could be used, or is that a bad idea. I wouldn't mind trying FF again but not if it interferes with what I'm doing now.


    Sgt. Schultz
    You Da Man.
    "Disable script debugging "
    That's what I was hunting for.
    Way back I found and disabled it but I couldn't remember how.
    Sometimes when just moving within GT, like this morning, I'd get the warning and the page would shut down.
    Thanks for the help.
    I'll see if I still have a problem.
     
  11. B.Mauser

    B.Mauser
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    162
    0
    Location:
    Thornton Colorado
    I use Firefox exclusively and I also use photobucket on a daily basis and I have NEVER had a problem.

    Saying you cant use photobucket with firefox is not true.


    There is a big difference between firefox 3 years ago and today.

    You really should try it again.
     
  12. M2 Carbine

    M2 Carbine
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    21,285
    4,260
    Location:
    Texas
    So far so good. I've only been on GT and Photobucket for about four hours but neither page has shut down on me once.:)

    Before disabling script debugging this morning, both GT and Photoshop shut down twice in a few minutes.



    Never being one to leave well enough alone, maybe I'll try Foxfire on one of my "backup" computers.





    .
     
    #12 M2 Carbine, Jun 11, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2009
  13. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    You can install and use FF on your primary computer, it will not interfere with IE ... when you do try FF be sure to check out the addons especially noscript.
     
  14. M2 Carbine

    M2 Carbine
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    21,285
    4,260
    Location:
    Texas
  15. Toyman

    Toyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    2,597
    20
    Location:
    West Michigan
    I recommend FireFox also, but chances are it is a add-on/extension in the browser that is causing the problem.
     
  16. M2 Carbine

    M2 Carbine
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    21,285
    4,260
    Location:
    Texas
    My problem is back.

    Even with both script Debuging boxes checked I'm getting "Internet Explorer has encountered a problem and........." again and IE shuts down.

    I've been kicked off GT three times in twenty minutes this morning. FF is looking better.
    Any suggestions where to get it?

    I wondered about that also.
    I run Norton and Skybot to see if they pick up anything but nothing.




    .
     
    #16 M2 Carbine, Jun 15, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2009
  17. solomansousana

    solomansousana
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    1,522
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, Virginia
    Try loading IE without the activex add-ons. I found that my perfectly stable IE went bonkers after loading the coupon surfer activex utility to print coupons on my lasers. Once I removed that particular activex add-on, my ie went back to it's normally stable self.
     
  18. M2 Carbine

    M2 Carbine
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    21,285
    4,260
    Location:
    Texas
    What are activex add-ons and how do I get rid of them?
    Even though I've been into computers for years I'm technically pretty ignorant.

    I used IE for so many years without trouble, I figured that something recently had been added/installed that was screwing up IE but didn't know what or where to get rid of it.
     
  19. B.Mauser

    B.Mauser
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    162
    0
    Location:
    Thornton Colorado
  20. bchandler

    bchandler
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    1,308
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    1) Download Firefox
    2) Install Firefox

    There, your problem is fixed! No script debugging, etc.

    I have not run into ANY webpages that don't work with firefox, and I use photobucket often.