close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Installing New Router - Do I Really Need To Install Network Magic Also?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by jusrick, May 27, 2009.


  1. jusrick

    jusrick
    Expand Collapse
    Initiate Plan R

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    1,195
    0
    Location:
    Burpleson AFB
    I'm replacing a D-Link 614 router with a Linksys WRT54GS2 wireless router.

    I had Network Magic installed with the old D Link router, but I removed it in the process of diagnosing what was causing my connection drops. I've trashed the old D Link router, but I would like to know if I really need to install Network Magic with the new Linksys router.

    I never did warm up to the Network Magic software. I thought that I had paid for the full version several years ago, but in the past few months it started reminding me that my trail version was about to expire again. From then until I uninstalled it, I had connection problems. I still don't know if it was all the fault of the router or partly the fault of the software expiring.

    Anyway, I googled the old router and everybody said it was a piece of junk and the recommended this Linksys. So here I sit ready to install, but I just don't want that Network Magic software on my PC again if I don't need it.
    What say ye? TIA.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. grokdesigns

    grokdesigns
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    507
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    No, there is no software required for connecting to wireless networks, regardless of manufacturer. You didn't need it with the D-Link router either.

    If you want to be brave, install DD-WRT on that new Linksys!
     

  3. greenLED

    greenLED
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    128
    0
    Location:
    Beaver Nation
    what grok said!

    DD-WRT that puppy!
     
  4. beemerphile

    beemerphile
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    949
    0
    Location:
    Danielsville, GA
    I like Network Magic, but you don.t NEED it'
     
  5. MavsX

    MavsX
    Expand Collapse
    The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    3,033
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    get yourself a cisco asa 5505
     
  6. grokdesigns

    grokdesigns
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    507
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Why would he need a commercial-grade firewall?
     
  7. RevDerb

    RevDerb
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    817
    15
    Location:
    In the middle of Michigan's Thumb
    I installed that Network Magic software with the last router that I purchased and found it extremely annoying. To each his own, though.
     
  8. MavsX

    MavsX
    Expand Collapse
    The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    3,033
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    bragging rights of course. we got a asa 5510 at work too.