close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Installing a HD

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by wrenrj1, Apr 30, 2010.


  1. wrenrj1

    wrenrj1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    6,872
    156
    Location:
    Huskerville
    My laptop's HD crashed and I'm going to try to do this myself as a project. I've identified the HD (SATA 2.5) I need to buy, however I disposed of the system disks that came with the laptop (Dell Inspiron 1525). I know what HD I need to buy, and will try to locate a copy of MS Vista to reload (then upgrade to Win 7 that I purchased earlier) and I can get the list of drivers installed on my laptop downloaded from Dell.

    My question is, after installing the HD and powering up the laptop, what's next? Anyone care to give me a step by step process to bring this laptop back to life?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. cgwahl

    cgwahl
    Expand Collapse
    Sheriffs a near

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    6,283
    12
    Location:
    CA
    You might have to go into the BIOS and go to boot up sequence and tell it try and load from the CD/DVD drive first. Save/exit. After that just follow the prompts the install disc does and wait for it to finish.

    Someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but you'll probably want to install the drivers and then proceed with the upgrade. But there is a chance you can just skip straight to the upgrade...
     

    #2 cgwahl, Apr 30, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2010
  3. cgwahl

    cgwahl
    Expand Collapse
    Sheriffs a near

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    6,283
    12
    Location:
    CA
    Oh, as for drivers...be sure to burn them to a cd or copy them to a flash drive so you won't have to connect it to the internet and download them.
     
  4. j-glock22

    j-glock22
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    1,903
    0
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Dell should be able to mail you a new software recovery set. I used to be an onsite pc tech, and I remember working with Dell systems, and some people either didn't get or have lost their software recovery package. But you may be able to get an OEM OS and snag hardware drivers yourself online.....
     
  5. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    I would bypass the Vista install and go straight to Windows 7 ... you can do a clean install of Windows 7 using the upgrade version.
     
  6. wrenrj1

    wrenrj1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    6,872
    156
    Location:
    Huskerville
    $59.00 for the drivers and OS CD's from Dell. I thought I'd try to snag a Vista disk from someone as the key is on the back of the laptop, and the drivers can be downloaded from Dell specifically for my laptop.
     
  7. wrenrj1

    wrenrj1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    6,872
    156
    Location:
    Huskerville
    You sure about that Schultz? I was told I couldn't by the Geek Squad, but then again I was told today I couldn't install Vista using a different Vista disk...
     
  8. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Absolutely, I've done it many times. Google "clean install windows 7 from upgrade" and you will find many sites explaining several different ways to do it.


    .
     
  9. HKUSP45Css

    HKUSP45Css
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    3,969
    0
    Location:
    Houston, by God, Texas
    Geek Squad misinformed you (*shocker*).

    When you boot to the Windows 7 upgrade disk select "custome install" ... everything will be just fine and it's perfectly legal.
     
  10. havensal

    havensal
    Expand Collapse
    Nozzle Jockey
    CLM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    2,939
    1
    Location:
    Western, NY
    The problem I had was it telling my that my key was invalid if I used "Custom". Not just mine, but a couple of us that preordered. :dunno:

    I had to install XP and then do a clean install from there. :steamed:

    Maybe the newer disks have an upgraded installer version. :dunno: