Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Forum at

Why should YOU join our forums?

  • Connect with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Read up on the latest product reviews
  • Make new friends to go shooting with!
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

Glock Talk is the #1 site to discuss the world’s most popular pistol, chat about firearms, accessories and more.

If you like George R. R. Martin's "Fire and Ice"...

Discussion in 'The Book Rack' started by jason10mm, Aug 24, 2004.

  1. jason10mm

    jason10mm NRA-GOA-TSRA

    Jan 27, 2001
    Clarksville, TN
    ...then you HAVE to try Greg Keyes "The Briar King".

    Yeah, I know he wrote a bunch of Star Wars novels (which I have never read), but he has DEFINITELY gotten the adult fantasy down! (no, that THAT kind of fantasy, you perv...). Like Martin, the focus is not just on the "struggle versus the big bad", but also on the characters and the greater geopolitical arena. He, like Martin and Tolkein, has created a world on one hand similar to ours, yet very different, with its own history, and more importantly, a FEELING of history. He narrates from fewer POVs, which helps you remember all the plotlines, and so far, all have been "good guys", though some are well into the grey zone. There are more "fantasy" elements than Martin, but no happy elves, stoic dwarves, or nashing orcs. Keyes is apparently a fencing hobbyist, so there are plenty of interesting fights, most of which are over quickly, rather than the endless "hollywood" swordfights of lesser fiction.

    So, if you are waiting, like me, for the next Martin book to come out, try Keyes!
  2. Sulaco

    Sulaco Guest

    Thanks for the tip! I've been waiting on A Feast For Crows for abnout a year now. I got hooked on Martin waiting on Jordan's next book (kinda upset w/ him at the moment) and now amd looking for something to hold me till AFFC comes out.

    HHave you read The Hedge Knight by Martin? iT's in a book called Legewnds along with a Jordan short story. A great read.

    Sorry bout typos, blame heinekne. ;f

  3. fnfalman

    fnfalman Chicks Dig It

    Oct 23, 2000
    California & New Mexico, US
    That dude Martin is really pissing me off!!! I can't wait much longer for The Feast For Crow!!! Argh##@$%^^

    Yeah, that feels much better now.