close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

I need some network printing help

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ToyotaMan, Dec 6, 2004.

  1. ToyotaMan

    ToyotaMan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2000
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Here's the current networking setup:

    Our DSL modem/router runs into a switch which sends our networking cables out to each computer.

    In front of me, I have the network jack which comes from the above mentioned switch, going from the wall into a second switch. From this second switch, one cable goes into a desktop computer and one cable goes into my Apple Airport Express.

    The Airport Express sends signal to my Apple Powerbook in another room and also the touchscreen computer in front of me.

    The network plug in my office which has my Powerbook is running into a HP Deskjet 6127 networking printer.

    I'm trying to get this touch screen computer to print to that HP printer. My Powerbook, which is getting its network signal from the same Airport Express as this touch screen is able to print to the Deskjet.

    This touchscreen is running Windows 2000.

    Can anyone help?
     
  2. bobby_w

    bobby_w Alienigena Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    South of Houston
    Did you do all of this to the Win 2000 PC?

    To use the printer from a computer using Windows:

    1 Open “Printers and Faxes” from the Start menu.

    2 Click Add Printer and then follow the onscreen instructions.

    3 Select “Local printer attached to this computer” and deselect “Automatically detect and install my Plug and Play printer.”

    4 In the “Select the Printer Port” screen, click “Create a new port” and choose Standard TCP/IP Port from the pop-up menu.

    5 Click Next and follow the onscreen instructions.

    6 In “Printer Name or IP Address,” enter 10.0.1.1. “IP_10.0.1.1” is generated as the port name.

    Note:
    If you gave your AirPort Express a different IP address, use it instead of 10.0.1.1.
    The port will be named with the address you enter.

    7 Select Standard for Device Type and select your printer in the list.
     

  3. ToyotaMan

    ToyotaMan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2000
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    bobby,
    That solved my problem. Thanks for the help!
     
  4. bobby_w

    bobby_w Alienigena Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    South of Houston
    Ain't it cool when after messing with a network printer for hours, you finally hear it wind up and a sheet of paper spits out?
     
  5. ToyotaMan

    ToyotaMan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2000
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA