close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

I have a DSL issue

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by gwalchmai, Aug 18, 2005.


  1. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai
    Expand Collapse
    Lucky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    23,801
    357
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    I can't reach my office from my house. Anymore. I could fine until last night, but now I can't. I can get pretty much anywhere else, and I can reach my office through an anonymizer (web proxy) service, but I just can't reach my office.

    I have BellSouth DSL at home and we have a BellSouth T1 at work. It appears that I'm having trouble getting to Bellsouth IPs.

    A tracert from my house goes through ten hops and then stops.
    In fact, a tracert to anything times out on the first hop, but then eventually works for most sites. I have no problem getting to GT.

    Tomorrow I guess I'll call BellSouth and have my patience tried. ;)

    Any ideas?
     
  2. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,784
    9
    How were you connecting to your office? Maybe your work starting blocking everything but port 80.
     

  3. funbob

    funbob
    Expand Collapse
    do a lil' dance

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    271
    0
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    But he can still get in through a proxy. My guess is that all the connections to the office from his IP prompted the concern of someone who didn't know it was legitimate use and they blocked it.
     
  4. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai
    Expand Collapse
    Lucky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    23,801
    357
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    srhoades - I can connect to most sites from my house, but not to my office IP. Also, my coworkers can still access work OK from their houses.

    funbob - there weren't that many connects from my house. I usually just use it to check mail on my server at work and to copy files occassionally. I have far more connections from my house to GT. No, I'm not blocking anything at work (well, nothing I don't want to, anyway ;)) Besides, I never get anywhere near my firewall at work. The trace stops way before that.

    I wrote up a nice email to BellSouth last night explaining the problem, and including a tracert capture. They sent me back a form letter reply this morning telling me to call their tech support number (bastages!).
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
I have a question... Caliber Corner Dec 5, 2015
Guys....I have a huge issue! General Glocking Feb 23, 2014
First Glock and I have an issue General Glocking Jun 28, 2013
Can I hook up Sprint DSL without a NIC? Tech Talk Nov 19, 2004
I have a dream The Lighter Side Mar 8, 2004
Duty Gear at CopsPlus