close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

How to get an Airborne Slot?

Discussion in 'US Army Forum' started by chR|5, Jul 23, 2007.

1. chR|5

chR|5 needs gas/ammo

Jun 28, 2003
    On Base
    I want my wings, do I have to re-up, or is there an "easier" way to obtain a slot?

2. Currahee

Currahee NRA Member

Nov 21, 2006
    NoVA
    I worked as a BN schools NCO for a year in a light infantry BN.

Airborne is a difficult school to get without getting it in your re-enlistment contract. The Army uses it as a recruiting and rewards tool so there aren't many slots handed out to non-Airborne units.

Are you are good terms with your 1SG? If so, talk to him about it (go through your chain of command of course). He can find out if there are slots available and push for you to get one if available. Don't talk directly to the Schools NCO or your 1SG. If you are on bad terms with your 1SG then just forget about it because he will have to push to get you a slot.

Feel free to PM me if you want further advice.

3. fourdeuce2

fourdeuce2

Nov 13, 2003
    Arkansas
    Getting the SCHOOL used to be easy. Getting assigned to an airborne unit used to be a bit tougher. I had no problem when I put in for Airborne School. I typed up my 4187 and gave it to the battalion commander(I was working in the S-1 shop at the time ;) ). He asked me if I wanted to get out of his unit that bad.:animlol: I told him I had been thinking of going Airborne for years, which was true. He signed the paperwork, and a few months later, I went to the school.