close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How to customize an avetair

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Uncle Don, May 17, 2005.


  1. Uncle Don

    Uncle Don
    Expand Collapse
    Wood butcher

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    1,334
    97
    Location:
    Midwest
    I admit that I don't lurk here and might explain why I'm asking something that has probably been discussed a thousand times. Unfortunately, the search feature is temporarily unavialible due to the problem Eric is having.

    I would like to use a digital picture to personalize my avatair but it didn't work out just to use an existing .jpg file. I'm fairly computer literate (just have problems spelling), and a short explaination on how to do it would probably do the trick. I know there other more interesting things to discuss but if someone could give a few lines of advise, I would sure appreciate it.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. MrsKitty

    MrsKitty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    18,802
    31
    Location:
    >^..^<
    Why didn't it work out?

    Too big?

    It has to be a certian size to upload ;)
     

  3. Uncle Don

    Uncle Don
    Expand Collapse
    Wood butcher

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    1,334
    97
    Location:
    Midwest
    The colors were very blurred and it didn't have any definition.
     
  4. MrsKitty

    MrsKitty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    18,802
    31
    Location:
    >^..^<
    Lost resolution....

    What program did you use to resize it?
     
  5. Uncle Don

    Uncle Don
    Expand Collapse
    Wood butcher

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    1,334
    97
    Location:
    Midwest
    I didn't resise it at all - I now see the problem. What size does it need to be reduced to and can I use most any graphic program?
     
  6. g29andy

    g29andy
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    2,686
    43
  7. Uncle Don

    Uncle Don
    Expand Collapse
    Wood butcher

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    1,334
    97
    Location:
    Midwest
    Thanks very much for your help.
     
  8. Michael Dean

    Michael Dean
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    112
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    Is there another program out there that resizes? I looked at the one suggested by "lovette", but it is only for Windows XP. I am running Windows 2000.

    Thanks, Mike
     
  9. g29andy

    g29andy
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    2,686
    43
  10. Michael Dean

    Michael Dean
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    112
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    Lovette, I used the irfanview program to resize a picture. It worked great. Thanks for the tip.

    Mike
     
  11. g29andy

    g29andy
    Expand Collapse
    CLM

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    2,686
    43
    Glad it worked. Although I've never used IRfanview, others have given it a good review.