close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How to connect three monitors to one desktop?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Drjones, Jan 21, 2011.


  1. Drjones

    Drjones
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    6,117
    1
    Location:
    CA, just outside the United States
    I love my dual-monitors: a 24" and 22" Dell, DVI.

    I saw a guy with three monitors and now I'm jealous. :supergrin:

    Is it as easy as popping in another video card to get a third monitor? Does it have to be the same make & model of video card?

    I run Win7 Ultimate, x64.

    Thank you!
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    2,090
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    yes

    no


    it's really that easy.

    i ran 4 monitors under windows 98 back in the day. since windows 95, you've been able to add as many monitors as you've got mobo slots for video cards and video outputs on the cards.

    verify the rev of the pcie slot you've got open and get an appropriate video card. chances are, that card will have dual outputs as well, so if you want, you could do 4 monitors.


    monoprice.com has some nice multi-monitor stands dirt cheap compared to every other place. (i use one myself, a dual-monitor stand, but vertically stacked instead of horizontal)

    also, you might check out matrox, they make some nice tripple monitor external cards, specifically the tripplehead2go, and you can even use it with a laptop. they also have quad (and more) display cards.

    http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/
     

  3. BigDog[RE]

    BigDog[RE]
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    1,007
    32
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Alot of my clients use dual monitors with the onboard video card and a USB video adapter. You can use the USB adapter to add a 3rd or 4th monitor very easily.

    http://us.startech.com/product/USB2DVI-USB-DVI-External-Multi-Monitor-Video-Adapter
     
  4. epoxy252

    epoxy252
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    510
    0
    Location:
    NC
    It also depends on what you plan on doing with that extra monitor. If it's just for 2d then yes its just as easy as adding another video card, usb adaptor etc. If you plan on using all three monitors for 3d then it's much more complicated/expensive.
     
    #4 epoxy252, Jan 21, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2011
  5. Adjuster

    Adjuster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    13,378
    895
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach Florida USA
    Also consider a 32" or bigger lcd tv for one monitor and a regular 19" or whatever size computer monitor. You can open up multiple side by side windows on the big tv so its just like having two or even three monitors in one.
     
  6. swinokur

    swinokur
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    2,255
    0
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD
    You can use the on board video and a dual head card to drive 3 monitors as someone mentioned. If your box has no on board video, you'll need a third output from another card.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Connect laptop to HDTV Tech Talk Jan 6, 2010
How to save a file on desktop/Firefox Tech Talk Jan 14, 2009
Linux gurus! Aspire One will not connect to internet Tech Talk Aug 19, 2008
How can I connect ps2 to pc monitor Tech Talk Dec 4, 2006
LG VX3200 phone - connect to computer, data mgt -how to? Tech Talk Jan 5, 2005
Duty Gear at CopsPlus