close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How many rounds should i load initially?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by wrx04, Oct 15, 2010.


  1. wrx04

    wrx04
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    1,228
    35
    Location:
    MI
    My press is all set up, i finally have all the reloading components, and i just heard from STI that my gun is being shipped monday morning. I'm gonna load up some rounds tonight, but not sure how many i should do. Should i only load a few in case the load doesnt work well in my gun, or am i safe to just load up 100-200 right off the bat?

    I'm loading montana gold 230gr FMJ and 5.9gr of unique.

    Cant wait to sit in the bathroom and reload all night:supergrin:
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. XDRoX

    XDRoX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    6,151
    1,806
    Location:
    San Diego
    I would load 10 of each. Each 10 with different weight powder throws.
    For example:
    10 with 5.8gr
    10 with 5.9gr
    10 with 6.0gr
    etc...
    Checking for signs of over-pressure as you go.

    Pulling rounds is no fun in case the don't work.

    You can also see what ones are most accurate.
     

    #2 XDRoX, Oct 15, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2010
  3. fredj338

    fredj338
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    21,479
    827
    Location:
    so.cal.
    This is good advice. For a teacher, Chris listens pretty well.:rofl:
    Would it be safe to load your specific load? Maybe, depends. It's why we workup loads & test them. What about your OAL? The wrong OAL can cause feeding issues or pressure issues. It's not just stuffing powder & a bullet in the case & go shoot. Can that work, sure, blind squirrel finds a nut every once & awhile, but it's not ideal or really safe. Slow down, do it right, you'll thank us for it when you don't have to pull down 98 of your 100rds that were loaded too long an OAL to function.:whistling:
     
    #3 fredj338, Oct 15, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2010
  4. keyser

    keyser
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    534
    0
    I would wait until your gun comes to determine the OAL you are going to need/want. Guns with tight tolerances can be picky.
     
  5. keyser

    keyser
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    534
    0
    We must have been typing at the same time.
     
  6. rg1

    rg1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    391
    5
    Location:
    Kentucky
    It doesn't make any difference because the laws of probability will show up at the range. Either your gun won't like the loads you've loaded and you will have to pull down some or a hundred, OR more likely you'll load 10 to 25 each and they will shoot great and you want to do more testing or sighting in and you will be out of ammo requiring another trip to the range.
    It's easy to pull down loaded .45's so I wouldn't worry about that. I just remove my decapping pin and resize and reload pulled down cases.
    Your load at 5.9 grains of Unique should shoot well and is in a safe load range. I'd load at least a box of 50 but you may want to load a few at 6.0 to a maximum of 6.5 grains of Unique. Starting at 5.8 and working up is wise.
     
  7. LASTRESORT20

    LASTRESORT20
    Expand Collapse
    LongTerm-Guy

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    17,363
    23,896
    Location:
    NC

    Very good points...and agree.
     
  8. fredj338

    fredj338
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    21,479
    827
    Location:
    so.cal.
    This is very true. I grabbed a box of ammo to go to the range the other day. The rounds work fine in all my 1911s but I was shooting a XDTAC that day. Guess what, the rounds were 0.10" too long for reliable cycling, the bullets hit the short throat of the XD's bbl & prevented the slide from going completely to battery.
    Not trying to be "abrasive", but WAIT until you get your pistol. Make 3-4 dummy rounds to hand cycle thru your pistol to make sure they feed. Then make your loads up like XDrox stated. You'll ultimately be a better reloader doing it right vs rushing ahead & having to backtrack IMO.
     
    #8 fredj338, Oct 15, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2010
  9. wrx04

    wrx04
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    1,228
    35
    Location:
    MI
    Thanks for the replies guys. I may make 1 or two rounds tonight to get the dies adjusted correctly, but i will wait for my gun to arrive.
     
  10. shotgunred

    shotgunred
    Expand Collapse
    reloading nut

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    8,637
    868
    Have you bought a kinetic hammer yet?
    I have never had to use mine :rofl: but everyone needs one.
     
  11. GioaJack

    GioaJack
    Expand Collapse
    Conifer Jack

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    10,016
    1
    Location:
    Conifer, CO
    If they're going to work load a few thousand and have a ball... if they're not going to work then two is one too many.

    Hey, it makes sense to me.


    Jack
     
  12. Bello

    Bello
    Expand Collapse
    America/Italia

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    2,346
    45
    Location:
    East Coast
     
  13. robin303

    robin303
    Expand Collapse
    Helicopter Nut

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    7,750
    437
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I used to do 10 but after testing them through a chrono and have just one error reading I do 15 just in case.
     
  14. wrx04

    wrx04
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    1,228
    35
    Location:
    MI
    Alright guys, need a little help/advice. I loaded two rounds, and built the OAL and width directly out of Lyman's for 45ACP. I compared my rounds to some WWB, and mine seem a little larger. The gauge that came with my dillon set drops the wwb round in nicely, while mine dont sit flush with the top. What did i do wrong, or do i have to wait for my specific barrel to test accurately?

    Sorry i'm a tard and dont know how to post pics properly. Thanks in advance for the advice:wavey:

    http://img806.imageshack.us/img806/402/img1121.jpg
    http://img824.imageshack.us/img824/2544/img1123w.jpg
    http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/7210/img1124qh.jpg
    http://img710.imageshack.us/img710/3120/img1125bw.jpg
    http://img524.imageshack.us/img524/9962/img1127d.jpg
    http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/9481/img1128d.jpg
     
  15. Boxerglocker

    Boxerglocker
    Expand Collapse
    Jacks #1 Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    6,143
    24
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Measure your crimp dimension again and post please. I suspect you don't have enough crimp to remove the bell. It should be measured at the very edge of the case, just before the bullet. Ideally around 0.471 but right at that spot mentioned.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    #15 Boxerglocker, Oct 16, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2010
  16. fredj338

    fredj338
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    21,479
    827
    Location:
    so.cal.
    Your pic looks like you did NOT crimp at all. You must crimp, always crimp, never not crimp. I know that sounds "Abrasive" but if you have read you reloading manual, it will explain the improtance of crimping properly. It's the only way to insure reliable ammo.
    I would also NOT load to the Lyman 1.269"OAL. That is quite long & can be an issue in some guns. Since you do NOT have your gun to check OAL (the gage does NOT do this) then I would shorten them a bit, 1.255"-1.260", just a little wiggle room. I think you are getting waaaaay ahead of yourself, but you don't seem to be listening to everyones advice.:dunno: So how much & what powder did you put in therm?
     
    #16 fredj338, Oct 16, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2010
  17. XDRoX

    XDRoX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    6,151
    1,806
    Location:
    San Diego
    Something's definitely not right. The rounds should be case gauging in that Dillon case gauge.

    A couple things to check. Do you have the sizing die low enough?

    And as Fred said, they don't appear to have much of a crimp. First make sure the sizing die is set correctly and then tighten up that crimp until the rounds case gauge.

    Also as Fred said, you're loading them too long. I bet you'll run into problems with them that long.

    I load to 1.250".
     
    #17 XDRoX, Oct 16, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2010
  18. dudel

    dudel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    4,594
    167
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    As others have said, it looks like the flare is still there.

    I bet you doing seating and crimping in the same step. This is harder to set up than doing it in two steps.

    Review your steps on seting up the seating/crimp die. It looks like the OAL has some variance. Did you raise the die (instead of the seater) to get a longer OAL? It's a common newb mistake.

    When you set up the die, you want to set the OAL first, then raise the seater and set the crimp. You can use the case gauge at this point, and keep adding crimp (within reason!) until the case seats in the case guage - assuming it's been fully resized). When the crimp is set, then raise the round, lock the die body down, then tighten down the seater plug till it makes contact with the round (that was previously set to proper OAL). Harder to explain, easier to demonstrate. There must be a YouTube on it.
     
  19. shotgunred

    shotgunred
    Expand Collapse
    reloading nut

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    8,637
    868
  20. wrx04

    wrx04
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    1,228
    35
    Location:
    MI
    I did crimp the rounds, however, it was probably not enough. I read and heard (on youtube) that you dont have to crimp 45acp very much, and i wanted to make sure i didn't over crimp it and result in over-pressure. I read this and wanted to err on the side of less crimp, but i will adjust that. How do i know if its TOO much?

    I am listening to the advice, and will not shoot these two rounds until they are checked in the barrel of my gun. The reason i loaded them was basically to figure out how the machine works, and to get the dies in the correct positions (which apparently they weren't.) I will probably end up pulling these two rounds anyway. I made the rounds to Lyman's specs....i was told not to take personal advice on loads until i eased my way into it, but apparently the published data for OAL is too long. Didnt now that, but now i do.

    I loaded these rounds with 5.8gr of unique....again, just like Lyman states as the minimum load.

    I appreciate the advice everyone. I hate looking like a total dumb*** posting these mistakes, but i want to make sure i get this thing set up right.