close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

How many loads from 30.06 brass?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by gforester, Oct 30, 2011.

1. gforester

gforester Motorhead

Feb 1, 2009
    Cocoa, FL
    I know with many pistol loads you can get a lot of reloads before the brass wears out, depending on how hot it is loaded. I'm new to reloading for my rifle and I was wondering if there is some point shere the rifle brass should be discarded and replaced with new or more once-fired brass. This is for 30.06 loads.

2. freakshow10mm

freakshow10mm 10mm Advocate

Garand strength loads I get about 8-10 shots per piece of brass.

3. sourdough44

sourdough44

Jul 23, 2007
    WI
    There is an article about this in the latest Handloader magazine. It varied with the brass from different companies. He loaded up to 'commercial levels' & got up to 20 loadings from some lots, some started to go at about 10 or so. Depending on what I'm doing I load modest much of the time, it's easier on everything.

4. gforester

gforester Motorhead

Feb 1, 2009
    Cocoa, FL
    Today I inspected my brass from my range trip last Wednesday and found 5 Winchester cases that looked like this. :wow:

[​IMG]

I would imagine this is a typical failure of the 30.06 casing? I had not shot these before, they were some range pickup I had lying around so I don't know how many times they had been reloaded. I have some RP and some HXP and a lot of new unfired Winchester. I think I shall record the number of times I load them.