close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How many loads from 30.06 brass?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by gforester, Oct 30, 2011.

1. gforester

gforester
    Expand Collapse
    Motorhead

I know with many pistol loads you can get a lot of reloads before the brass wears out, depending on how hot it is loaded. I'm new to reloading for my rifle and I was wondering if there is some point shere the rifle brass should be discarded and replaced with new or more once-fired brass. This is for 30.06 loads.

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. freakshow10mm

freakshow10mm
    Expand Collapse
    10mm Advocate

Garand strength loads I get about 8-10 shots per piece of brass.

3. sourdough44

sourdough44
    Expand Collapse

There is an article about this in the latest Handloader magazine. It varied with the brass from different companies. He loaded up to 'commercial levels' & got up to 20 loadings from some lots, some started to go at about 10 or so. Depending on what I'm doing I load modest much of the time, it's easier on everything.

4. gforester

gforester
    Expand Collapse
    Motorhead

Today I inspected my brass from my range trip last Wednesday and found 5 Winchester cases that looked like this. :wow:

[​IMG]

I would imagine this is a typical failure of the 30.06 casing? I had not shot these before, they were some range pickup I had lying around so I don't know how many times they had been reloaded. I have some RP and some HXP and a lot of new unfired Winchester. I think I shall record the number of times I load them.

If this was a dumb question, please forgive my ignorance as I am a newbie to reloading rifle brass.

5. hogfish

hogfish
    Expand Collapse
    Señor Member