close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How do you choose a holster without going broke?

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by onebadtwo, Jun 14, 2011.

1. onebadtwo

onebadtwo
    Expand Collapse

I am new to carrying and just picked up a new G26 to use as my primary CCW. How do you pick a holster without spending tons of money getting something that just plain doesn't work for you? I like the IWB holsters such as the CrossBreed, the MTAC, and the KingTuk. But how do you choose which is best? I am also not totally opposed to carrying OWB but there seem to be TONS of choices in that market! I picked up a DeSantis Nemisis today just to get me by with the G26.

Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Folsom_Prison

Folsom_Prison
    Expand Collapse
    Brew Crew

Just do yourself the favor and buy the supertuck. I've had mine for over a year now and couldn't be happier.

3. jeffyjeff

jeffyjeff
    Expand Collapse
    awesome sauce

whatever you buy, you can most likely find someone to resell it to if doesn't work for you.

personally, when i bought my first handgun for ccw -- also a g26 -- i also bought a horsehide cbst as my first holster and found it works perfect for me~

4. Travclem

Travclem
    Expand Collapse
    Badass Member
    Lifetime Member

Without intent starting a pissing match I'll tell you that the MTAC is the best holster you listed IMO. Before long you'll end up with a drawer full of holsters like the rest of us.

I believe GT used to have a holster borrowing thing set up where you could try different holsters.

5. LongGoneDays

LongGoneDays
    Expand Collapse
    Misanthropical

I had a long time to formulate an idea before I'd even bought my first carry pistol.
    Do a lot of research, compare product descriptions and word of mouth to what you need.