close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

How do I access System Restore without the tool bar

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by popnfresh, Jan 2, 2005.


  1. popnfresh

    popnfresh
    Expand Collapse
    dauernd wachsam

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    221
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi
    I was disabling services 1 by 1, doing a restart after each to make sure the service wasn't needed. The last one was needed, some things no longer work :no tool bar, search, etc. now I cant get the service restarted. I have no tool bar for start/programs/accessories/systemtools/system restore.

    In task manager, I can do "run": services.msc but when I hit "properties" for the service I want to turn on , the "properties" don't show so I can enable them.

    It seems my only option is a system restore to a point earlier today(a point I created for this reason, now I can't get to it) so is there a shortcut or "run" command or even the location would be helpful, I can't find it anywhere.

    I googled and can't find any info on it
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. westwindmike

    westwindmike
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    85
    0
    Location:
    Middle Tennessee
    Would hitting the "Windows" key on your keyboard help you get there? Just a thought.
     

  3. btoler

    btoler
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    137
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    do a shutdown the computer then power back up and hit F10? If that one don't work try other hot keys on my HP with indows Xp F10 kicksyou into system restore.
     
  4. Anon1

    Anon1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    1,121
    170
    Be careful, if you do what the last post mentioned you will likely removed all data from the machine and put it back to "out-of-the-box" condition as it came from the factory.
     
  5. fatlander

    fatlander
    Expand Collapse
    Comrade

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    63
    0
    Location:
    somewhere in the mediterranean
    a similar thing happened to me, i killed the explorer.

    try this: boot in a safe mode with a command promt (F8 during boot) and type:
    %SystemRoot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe

    where %SystemRoot% is your windows directory
     
  6. popnfresh

    popnfresh
    Expand Collapse
    dauernd wachsam

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    221
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi
    Thanks for the help but system restore doesn't work either, it must be off also.

    It says "System Restore is not able to protect your computer. Please restart your computer, and then run system restore again." keeps giving me this same message.


    The one item I disabled(RPC, IIRC, I can't remember now) also turn off other services just as I was warned;Q.

    I went to the blackviper
    site and found the default services registry key and installed it but that didn't work either. I may go through the registry and manually turn on all the services.