close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

  • Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

House Bill 1744 vote Nov 14

Discussion in 'Pennsylvania Glockers Club' started by Jeep274, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. Jeep274

    Jeep274 Member When?

    337
    0
    Jan 6, 2004
    Bucks Co., PA
    I just read on Pafoa.org that HB 1744 may go up for vote November 14.

    If you haven't read this bill, you may be shocked at the changes in it. One thing that really jumped at me was the striking of the phrase "handgun" and replacing it with "firearm". This would make FFL transfers required on all in state private firearm sales, handgun or long gun.

    I was really disappointed to see that my Rep voted for this garbage after previously claiming to be opposed to gun control legislation.

    Start writing now and send your comments to all of the Representatives.

    Link to the bill:
    http://www.legis.state.pa.us/CFDOCS/Legis/PN/Public/btCheck.cfm?txtType=HTM&sessYr=2007&sessInd=0&billBody=H&billTyp=B&billNbr=1744&pn=2806

    Link to vote roll call:


    PA House Roster:
    Dis Name E-mail

    01 Harkins pharkins@pahouse.net
    02 Fabrizio ffabrizi@pahouse.net
    03 Hornaman jhornama@pahouse.net
    04 Sonney csonney@pahousegop.com
    05 Evans jevans@pahousegop.com
    06 Roae broae@pahousegop.com
    07 Longietti mlongiet@pahouse.net
    08 Stevenson rstevens@pahousegop.com
    09 Sainato csainato@pahouse.net
    10 Gibbons jgibbons@pahouse.net
    11 Ellis bellis@pahousegop.com
    12 Metcalfe dmetcalf@pahousegop.com
    13 Hershey ahershey@pahousegop.com
    14 Marshall Jmarshall@pahousegop.com
    15 Biancucci vbiancuc@pahouse.net
    16 Ramaley sramaley@pahouse.net
    17 Brooks mbrooks@pahousegop.com
    18 DiGirolamo gdigirol@pahousegop.com
    19 Wheatley jwheatley@pahouse.net
    20 Walko dwalko@pahouse.net
    21 Bennington lbenning@pahouse.net
    22 Wagner cwagner@pahouse.net
    23 Frankel dfrankel@pahouse.net
    24 Preston jpreston@pahouse.net
    25 Markosek jmarkose@pahouse.net
    26 Hennessey thenness@pahousegop.com
    27 Petrone tpetrone@pahouse.net
    28 Turzai mturzai@pahousegop.com
    29 O'Neill boneill@pahousegop.com
    30 Vulakovich rvulakov@pahousegop.com
    31 Steil dsteil@pahousegop.com
    32 Deluca tdeluca@pahouse.net
    33 Dermody fdermody@pahouse.net
    34 Costa pcosta@pahouse.net
    35 Gergely mgergely@pahouse.net
    36 Readshaw hreadsha@pahouse.net
    37 Creighton tcreight@pahousegop.com
    38 Kortz bkortz@pahouse.net
    39 Levdansky dlevdans@pahouse.net
    40 Maher jmaher@pahousegop.com
    41 True ktrue@pahousegop.com
    42 Smith mhsmith@pahouse.net
    43 Boyd sboyd@pahousegop.com
    44 Mustio mmustio@pahousegop.com
    45 Kotik nkotik@pahouse.net
    46 White jwhite@pahouse.net
    47 Gillespie kgillesp@pahousegop.com
    48 Solobay tsolobay@pahouse.net
    49 Daley pdaley@pahouse.net
    50 Deweese wdeweese@pahouse.net
    51 Mahoney tmahoney@pahouse.net
    52 Kula dkula@pahouse.net
    53 Godshall rgodshal@pahousegop.com
    54 Pallone jpallone@pahouse.net
    55 Petrarca jpetrarc@pahouse.net
    56 Casorio jcasorio@pahouse.net
    57 Tangretti ttangret@pahouse.net
    58 Harhai tharhai@pahouse.net
    59 Stairs jstairs@pahousegop.com
    60 Pyle jpyle@pahousegop.com
    61 Harper kharper@pahousegop.com
    62 Reed dreed@pahousegop.com
    63 McIlhattan fmcilhat@pahousegop.com
    64 Hutchinson shutchin@pahousegop.com
    65 Rapp klrapp@pahousegop.com
    66 Smith shsmith@pahousegop.com
    67 Causer mcauser@pahousegop.com
    68 Baker mbaker@pahousegop.com
    69 Bastian bbastian@pahousegop.com
    70 Moyer jmoyer@pahousegop.com
    71 Wojnaroski ewojnaro@pahouse.net
    72 Yewcic tyewcic@pahouse.net
    73 Haluska ghaluska@pahouse.net
    74 George cgeorge@pahouse.net
    75 Surra dsurra@pahouse.net
    76 Hanna mhanna@pahouse.net
    77 Conklin sconklin@pahouse.net
    78 Hess dhess@pahousegop.com
    79 Geist rgeist@pahousegop.com
    80 Stern jstern@pahousegop.com
    81 Fleck mfleck@pahousegop.com
    82 Harris aharris@pahousegop.com
    83 Cappelli scappell@pahousegop.com
    84 Everett geverett@pahousegop.com
    85 Fairchild rfairchi@pahousegop.com
    86 Keller mkeller@pahousegop.com
    87 Grell ggrell@pahousegop.com
    88 Nailor jnailor@pahousegop.com
    89 Kauffman rkauffma@pahousegop.com
    90 Rock trock@pahousegop.com
    91 Moul dmoul@pahousegop.com
    92 Perry sperry@pahousegop.com
    93 Miller rmiller@pahousegop.com
    94 Saylor ssaylor@pahousegop.com
    95 DePasquale edepasqu@pahouse.net
    96 Sturla msturla@pahouse.net
    97 Bear jbear@pahousegop.com
    98 Hickernell dhickern@pahousegop.com
    99 Denlinger gdenling@pahousegop.com
    100 Cutler bcutler@pahousegop.com
    101 Gingrich mgingric@pahousegop.com
    102 Swanger rswanger@pahousegop.com
    103 Buxton rbuxton@pahouse.net
    104 Helm shelm@pahousegop.com
    105 Marisco rmarsico@pahousegop.com
    106 Payne jpayne@pahousegop.com
    107 Belfanti rbelfant@pahouse.net
    108 Phillips mphillip@pahousegop.com
    109 Millard dmillard@pahousegop.com
    110 Pickett tpickett@pahousegop.com
    111 Major smajor@pahousegop.com
    112 Smith ksmith@pahouse.net
    113 Shimkus Fshimkus@pahouse.net
    114 Wansacz jwansacz@pahouse.net
    115 Staback estaback@pahouse.net
    116 Eachus teachus@pahouse.net
    117 Boback kboback@pahousegop.com
    118 Carroll mcarroll@pahouse.net
    119 Yudichak jyudicha@pahouse.net
    120 Mundy pmundy@pahouse.net
    121 Pashinski epashins@pahouse.net
    122 McCall kmccall@pahouse.net
    123 Goodman ngoodman@pahouse.net
    124 Argall dargall@pahousegop.com
    125 Seip tseip@pahouse.net
    126 Santoni dsantoni@pahouse.net
    127 Caltagirone tcaltagi@pahouse.net
    128 Rohrer srohrer@pahousegop.com
    129 Cox jcox@pahousegop.com
    130 Kessler dkessler@pahouse.net
    131 Beyer kbeyer@pahousegop.com
    132 Mann jmann@pahouse.net
    133 Brennan jbrennan@pahouse.net
    134 Reichley dreichle@pahousegop.com
    135 Samuelson ssamuels@pahouse.net
    136 Freeman rfreeman@pahouse.net
    137 Grucela rgrucela@pahouse.net
    138 Dally cdally@pahousegop.com
    139 Peifer mpeifer@pahousegop.com
    140 Galloway jgallowa@pahouse.net
    141 Melio amelio@pahouse.net
    142 King cking@pahouse.net
    143 Quinn mquinn@pahousegop.com
    144 Watson kwatson@pahousegop.com
    145 Clymer pclymer@pahousegop.com
    146 Quigley tquigley@pahousegop.com
    147 Mensch bmensch@pahousegop.com
    148 Gerber repgerber@pahouse.net
    149 Leach dleach@pahouse.net
    150 Vereb mvereb@pahousegop.com
    151 Taylor rtaylor@pahouse.net
    152 Murt tmurt@pahousegop.com
    153 Shapiro jshapiro@pahouse.net
    154 Curry lcurry@pahouse.net
    155 Schroder cschrode@pahousegop.com
    156 Smith bsmith@pahouse.net
    157 Rubley crubley@pahousegop.com
    158 Ross cross@pahousegop.com
    159 Kirkland tkirklan@pahouse.net
    160 Barrar parep160@aol.com
    161 Lentz blentz@pahouse.net
    162 Raymond rraymond@pahousegop.com
    163 Micozzie nmicozzi@pahousegop.com
    164 Civera mcivera@pahousegop.com
    165 Adolph Wadolph@pahousegop.com
    166 Vitali gvitali@pahouse.net
    167 Milne dmilne@pahousegop.com
    168 Killion tkillion@pahousegop.com
    169 O'Brien dobrien@pahousegop.com
    170 Kenney gkenney@pahousegop.com
    171 Benninghoff kbenning@pahousegop.com
    172 Perzel jmp@pahousegop.com
    173 McGeehan mmcgeeha@pahouse.net
    174 Sabatina jsabatin@pahouse.net
    175 O'Brien mobrien@pahouse.net
    176 Scavello mscavell@pahousegop.com
    177 Taylor jtaylor@pahousegop.com
    178 Petri spetri@pahousegop.com
    179 Payton tpayton@pahouse.net
    180 Cruz acruz@pahouse.net
    181 Thomas cthomas@pahouse.net
    182 Josephs bjosephs@pahouse.net
    183 Harhart jharhart@pahousegop.com
    184 Keller wkeller@pahouse.net
    185 Donatucci rdonatuc@pahouse.net
    186 James hjames@pahouse.net
    187 Mantz cmantz@pahousegop.com
    188 Roebuck jroebuck@pahouse.net
    189 Siptroth jsiptrot@pahouse.net
    190 Blackwell tblackwe@pahouse.net
    191 Waters rwaters@pahouse.net
    192 Bishop lwbishop@pahouse.net
    193 Nickol snickol@pahousegop.com
    194 Manderino kmanderi@pahouse.net
    195 Oliver foliver@pahouse.net
    196 Mackereth bmackere@pahousegop.com
    197 Williams jwilliam@pahouse.net
    198 Youngblood ryoungbl@pahouse.net
    199 Gabig wgabig@pahousegop.com
    200 Parker cparker@pahouse.net
    201 Myers jmyers@pahouse.net
    202 Cohen mcohen@pahouse.net
    203 Evans devans@hacd.net
     
  2. n3hcp

    n3hcp Paranoid Member

    166
    0
    Nov 22, 2002
    South Central PA
    While I do not support this bill, unless I am missing something, it doesn't apply to long guns. "Firearms" as defined in section 6102 is:

    "Firearm." Any pistol or revolver with a barrel length less than 15 inches, any shotgun with a barrel length less than 18 inches or any rifle with a barrel length less than 16 inches, or any pistol, revolver, rifle or shotgun with an overall length of less than 26 inches. The barrel length of a firearm shall be determined by measuring from the muzzle of the barrel to the face of the closed action, bolt or cylinder, whichever is applicable.

    As I said, I may have missed something, but this looks to me like it still only applies to what we non lawyer types would call handguns.

    Never the less, this is poor legislation and should be opposed.
     


  3. Jeep274

    Jeep274 Member When?

    337
    0
    Jan 6, 2004
    Bucks Co., PA
    I received this reply from my Rep. today:

    ETA: n3hcp, thanks for the response and clarification. I was not aware of that definition, although nothing is stopping them from redefining the term "firearm" in the future.