close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Welcome to Glock Talk

Why should YOU join our Glock forum?

• Converse with other Glock Enthusiasts
  • Learn about the latest hunting products
  • Becoming a member is FREE and EASY

If you consider yourself a beginner or an avid shooter, the Glock Talk community is your place to discuss self defense, concealed carry, reloading, target shooting, and all things Glock.

Hornady Lock n Load AP.

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by GlockMonk, Apr 14, 2012.

1. Hi folks, I've been reloading pistol cartridges with my Dillon SDBs for a few years now, and I'm ready to step up to reloading the 223, due to shortages, and ever increasing prices.

I'm currently looking at Hornady Lock n Load AP, as I want an auto indexing press. I've thought about the Dillon 650, but I kept hearing the caliber/primer changes are a pain.

The LnL AP supposedly had some priming issues a while back, but does anyone know, if Hornady has fixed those issues? Please share your thoughts on this one, thanks.

GlockMonk

2. Thanks, that's what I keep hearing as well. So, it's not that big of a deal to change caliber/primer setup? I could go either way, price is not an issue.

GlockMonk

3. alitke15

alitke15

Dec 13, 2011
    I run a Hornady LnL AP and have no issues with primers. The only thing you have to watch for is trash that might get stuck in the priming system. You will know right away as you feel a huge amount of force and the unit will not allow you to upstroke. I had this happen twice but once I cleared the debris it was fine.

4. ron59

ron59 Bustin Caps

Jan 3, 2009
    Smyrna, GA
    I have a 650... haven't changed calibers yet, but don't see that it would be "a pain". Toolhead swaps out easily enough. I have had the primer system apart (very simple) so just swapping out the large/small primer parts are easy. Which just leads the few casefeeder parts.