close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

help remove rogue install

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Another Miller, Jun 26, 2010.


  1. Another Miller

    Another Miller
    Expand Collapse
    prankster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    2,587
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I was out mowing and my son comes over..

    "dad the computer was acting up and it started doing things by itself'.


    Well went in and checked it out.uninstalled avg because my computer said a file in it got corrupted... and it said something about removing defence center first to reinstall avg.well, I didnt know i had one until now.So I have this little shield shaped icon now where the avg was, its wrecking havok on everything.


    how in the world do i get rid of it?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Patrick Graham

    Patrick Graham
    Expand Collapse
    Footlong Jr.

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    1,953
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo Indiana
    The best way is to dynamite and rebuild.

    You can try Malwarebytes on full scan if you can get it installed, maybe in safe mode.

    Edited to add: I just had one of those last week, I rebuilt it.
     

    #2 Patrick Graham, Jun 26, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  3. Alcoy

    Alcoy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    2,020
    232
    Location:
    Virginia
    My pc got infected last week. Cleaned the hard drive. Now back to normal. Lost everything in the drive. I keep the important stuff on a usb drive.
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,534
    775
    Location:
    Indiana
    A young kid on a Windows PC...

    Why don't you just teach them to snort crack cocaine.. it's safer.. :)

    I'd have to agree w/ the above posters format and start over, then learn Linux.. :)

    IGF
     
  5. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
    Does it have a name on it?

    What version of Windows do you have? XP? Vista? Windows 7? 64 bit?
     
    #5 GIockGuy24, Jun 26, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  6. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,784
    9
    I remove malware all the time as part of my job, it takes 1-2 hours tops. Telling someone to wipe their hard drive because of an infection is the equivalent of your mechanic telling you to get a new car because you are out of wiper fluid.

    Install and update malwarebytes and run in safe mode, remove everything it finds. If that doesn't resolved the problem go to forums.techguy.org, register for an account, and post a hi jack this log in the malware removal forum.
     
    #6 srhoades, Jun 26, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  7. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,534
    775
    Location:
    Indiana
    Funny... but a totally ridiculous analogy...
     
  8. faber

    faber
    Expand Collapse
    "Go Daddy! Go!"

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    236
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  9. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,784
    9
    Really? I've literally cleaned hundreds of computers over the last 4 years and can count on one hand the number I had to do a reinstall on.
     
  10. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,534
    775
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yes, really. Not saying comparisons can't be made, but you just made a bad one.

    IGF
     
  11. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,784
    9
    I didn't realize hyperbole was so passe.
     
  12. stolivar

    stolivar
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    316
    2
    Location:
    Missouri
    I clean 3 to 5 computers a nite from virus's. I can count on my fingers over the last year I had to do a complete format and reinstall.

    I use Malwarebytes in safe mode and also use Asquared.

    What he said is totally true in nature. It is like cutting your toe off for a hang nail..



    steve:dunno:
     
  13. Patrick Graham

    Patrick Graham
    Expand Collapse
    Footlong Jr.

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    1,953
    0
    Location:
    Kokomo Indiana

    Malwarebytes couldn't clean the last round of infection that my neighbor brought over, nor could it reconfigure the changes made in the ethernet connections. Malwarebytes is good but it's not a cure all.
     
    #13 Patrick Graham, Jun 27, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2010
  14. faber

    faber
    Expand Collapse
    "Go Daddy! Go!"

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    236
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    a system reinstall isnt that hard....it may be over kill but its not a big deal.
    as long as you got your stuff backed.
     
  15. Another Miller

    Another Miller
    Expand Collapse
    prankster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    2,587
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Back in business

    io 360 worked like a charm. The security center rogue was in the registry. installed the io 360 and it nailed it, 4 copies and removed them without having to do anything else except click "remove".The antihijack feature also enabled me to see exactly which ones were eating up memory and dumping in my system,easy to remove them as well.

    Thank you faber, thank you ..very very much!

    malware bytes didnt catch it,avg didnt catch it,superantispyware didnt catch it either and they all were updated and ran in both normal and safe mode.


    Also, firefox has become unstable too,uninstalled it and running basic internet now. Computer runs fast and great now.
     
  16. stolivar

    stolivar
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    316
    2
    Location:
    Missouri
    Malware is not the end all. but it is pretty good. so is Asquared and 360.

    what one does not fix the other one well.


    steve
     
  17. Another Miller

    Another Miller
    Expand Collapse
    prankster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    2,587
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    yup.


    Had the asquared and deleted it, didnt seem to do much of anything.its wierd, the avg picks up viruses and tracker cookies when another program is scanning for them but wont actualy do much else.
     
  18. faber

    faber
    Expand Collapse
    "Go Daddy! Go!"

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    236
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    :thumbsup: you're welcome....
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Best tool to remove, and install, Glock front sights? Gunsmithing Oct 10, 2014
PM9 - sight remove/install Kahr Club Sep 20, 2010
Need help with Linux Install Tech Talk Mar 4, 2009
Warren Tactical Sight install help Pennsylvania Glockers Club Jul 12, 2007
Duty Gear at CopsPlus