close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Help opening 7z archive

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by srhoades, Jul 18, 2011.


  1. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,798
    10
    I'm either overlooking something and I'm a dimwit or the guy who set this up is a dimwit. Software used was Cobian backup to make 7z archives. I've attached screenshots but it doesn't make any sense to me. I can open all of the smaller files, which I think are differentials. The problem is the file I need is in the one dated 12-01. As you can see, the files are limited to 2GB and were split when they exceeded that size. I can not open any of the large 2GB archives. What is strange to me is that from the get go there is a file with 001 extension, does that mean the first full backup is missing? Yet it is named "backup" while every subsequent file is name "primary." I'm lost.
    I've tried using the decompressor option in Cobian and it just locks up on any of the larger files.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
    #1 srhoades, Jul 18, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  2. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,952
    137
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    No Password?
    WinRAR no help?

    and

    After you make copies of those fine files, what happens when you knock the ,001 extention of them?

    Call the previous 'Backup Artist'?

    Good Luck - These kinda things lead people to much more realistic backup situations in the end!
     

  3. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,798
    10
    The 2GB .001 files will extract into then just a plain 2GB 7z file, which then cannot be opened. I've tried WinRAR and have the same issues.
     
  4. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,798
    10
    And I've already set him up with Acronis making separate images of his OS and Data partitions.
     
  5. Linux3

    Linux3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    1,399
    0
    Just as people here harp on the need to back up your data, you also need to make sure the process works.

    How can you keep using a 'backup' utility without ever testing it?

    http://www.cobiansoft.com/forum/

    You might better ask here.
     
  6. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    2,090
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    that's weird, generally 7zip archives with .0xx are indicative of a split archive, however, looking at that listing it seems the .001 is appended to the archive name. (if it were a split, the first file in the archive would be the one with the .7z extension)

    so, based on that i'd assume they're named that way as an indication of an archived archive. rather than being named that due to being part of a split archive.

    you could open the one you want in 7zip and it will show you if the files inside are split.

    speaking of which, what are you trying to open the .001 archives with?

    http://www.7-zip.org (free)
     
  7. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,952
    137
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    I'm with you Linux3 - It ain't a backup till you *test* it, regardless of the pucker factor involved!

    I'll have to check Cobian out again... it's been a while.
     
  8. Kith

    Kith
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    1,601
    1
    Winrar doesn't handle.7zip files well.

    Go to the 7zip website and download the 7zip software to manually.open the file.

    Google it, it's right there, but hard to go find a link and make the post on mobile.

    Edit-kc beat me to it a few posts back. This is why we read the thread, before replying
     
    #8 Kith, Jul 21, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2011
  9. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    2,090
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    meh, i'm waiting for the text to speech upgrade to the android app, i'm like, angry at words and stuff
     
  10. srhoades

    srhoades
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    2,798
    10
    The 7zip software didn't work. For some reason the backup was being split when over 2GB and it was corrupted every time as I could not open any of the split archives.

    In the end it worked out as it wasn't as hard to reconstruct the excel file that was missing as my customer originally thought.
     
  11. kc8ykd

    kc8ykd
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    2,090
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    well, that's unusual, and good.

    unusual that the software was corrupting the archives. good they were able to reconstruct their data without too much hassle.

    sounds like it was a good opportunity for you to get them some good reliable software and setup a backup schema that includes archive integrity testing.