close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Help Needed: Is it GT or Firefox?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Dr. Leaky, Jun 12, 2009.


  1. Dr. Leaky

    Dr. Leaky
    Expand Collapse
    Know-It-All

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    1,097
    186
    Location:
    Verde Valley Arizona
    I have developed a recent problem that only seems to occur when I visit this site. When I used to get here via a bookmark it went right to the page where my favorite forums were listed and it gave me the welcome box with my username. Now, all of a sudden I go to the sign-in page instead. I type in my username and password, get to the "welcome" page thanking me for logging in, wait to be redirected and go right back to the login page. I tried deleting the GT cookie and re-trying it, but no good. The only way I could post this is using Firefox's IE Tab add-on. Seems IE can get here but Firefox won't let me sign in. And I HATE IE. Any thoughts? Thanks.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. solomansousana

    solomansousana
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    1,522
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, Virginia
    From what I've read in previous postings, this site doesn't work properly under firefox.
     

  3. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    975
    Location:
    Indiana
    Most people that have had this problem, if I recall..

    Click Reply, to reply to a post. and it will ask you for your login credentials. Enter them and click save, make a post, and then you should be ok

    IGF
     
  4. LongGoneDays

    LongGoneDays
    Expand Collapse
    Misanthropical

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    9,249
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I have a linkshelf account, my GT link goes straight to General Glocking. It use to be the "main" page but when the page got changed around I didn't like it.


    I never use IE. *shudder*
     
  5. kirgi08

    kirgi08
    Expand Collapse
    Southern Rogue.
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    33,987
    3,170
    Location:
    Acme proving grounds.
    I go ta GT straight outta BM/s,no probs.I run FFox period.'08.
     
  6. DJ Niner

    DJ Niner
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2001
    14,891
    692
    Location:
    North-Central USA
    It is my understanding that the main page login is not functioning correctly. Eric is aware of the problem and is trying to fix it. In the meantime, try this method. It worked for me, and has worked for others using Firefox.

    Delete your Glock Talk cookies
    (go to Tools>Options..., then click Show Cookies button. Scroll down list to "Gs", find Glock Talk folder, highlight it, click Remove Cookie button, then Close button)

    Clear Cache
    (go to Tools>Options..., find the Private Data area, click the Clear Now button, then the OK button near the bottom)

    Close Firefox (ALL browser windows)

    Reopen Firefox

    DO NOT use whatever page you normally have bookmarked to get to Glock Talk; use this one instead:
    http://glocktalk.com/forums/index.php
    Click the Remember Me box when you log in, and if Firefox prompts you to remember your password, choose your option.

    Let me know how it works for you. Some folks have said it didn't fix things initially, and then the next time they logged in, everything was working fine; so, it may take more than one visit to verify that it has corrected the problem.
     
  7. kirgi08

    kirgi08
    Expand Collapse
    Southern Rogue.
    Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    33,987
    3,170
    Location:
    Acme proving grounds.
    DJ,my above works fine/even when I change 'puters.'08.

    I go from a Gateway ta a Toughbook.
     
  8. jwb

    jwb
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    10
    0
    Location:
    mi
    Have the same problem, but "fixed" it for the time being by using the Firefox extension: IE Tab, which changes the rendering engine to that of IE for the site.
     
  9. grokdesigns

    grokdesigns
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    507
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    I've never had any problems with Firefox. I use http://glocktalk.com/forums/usercp.php as my bookmark and everything works fine. Using Firefox 3.5b99 at the moment, but have never had problems with any version in the past.
     
  10. Dr. Leaky

    Dr. Leaky
    Expand Collapse
    Know-It-All

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    1,097
    186
    Location:
    Verde Valley Arizona
    Thanks to everyone for the replies. I followed what DJ Niner suggested and I'm happy again:cool::cool:
    It's weird that it just changed by itself - there was some event a week or so ago when my homepage resized itself and a bunch of Firefox settings changed. I am sure it wasn't malware, so it must have been a Mozilla hiccup. I re-set everything back to the way it was except for GT. All seems well now tho. Carry on.
     
  11. GlockerMike

    GlockerMike
    Expand Collapse
    God Help Us

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    12,975
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
  12. BigSexy

    BigSexy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    489
    0
    Location:
    Fargo ND
    I've had this problem a few times on a windows box, but I've never seen it from a linux box using FF.
     
  13. ERASER

    ERASER
    Expand Collapse
    Nyuk,Nyuk,Nyuk!

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2000
    4,969
    395
    I have this problem when I use my other computer (Firefox on both).

    I finally figured out that after I log-in and get re-directed back to the log-in page, I just click on the CASINO tab. It recognizes me there and I can then navigate to any page/forum, etc. and I will be logged in.
     
  14. quickcanary

    quickcanary
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    30
    0
    I don't remember having problems with GT when using Firefox, but I've nearly switched to Chrome as my primary browser and can confirm that it works fine with it.
     
  15. slewfoot

    slewfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Random Mayhem

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    13,557
    0
    Location:
    S.E. Pa
    This has been my experience also. No problems at all.
     
  16. costanza187

    costanza187
    Expand Collapse
    I like Macs

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    7,635
    803
    Location:
    Indiana
    I had the problem of it not remembering my password and login using both Firefox & Safari. (logging in from the main screen) However, if I log in from a reply to a thread, both browsers remembered my pw/login perfectly....discovered that first day out with my new computer. Odd...