close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Help. George Bush Idiot Google hacking me.

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Mushinto, Jan 6, 2005.


  1. Mushinto

    Mushinto
    Expand Collapse
    Master Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    7,556
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    I cleared my cookies. My Norton Anti-virus is up-to-date and says everything is OK. But, I keem getting a pop-up which is a Google search for the words "george bush idiot". My trask manager shows this program is running, but I cannot find it anywhere in my programs.

    I have attached a picture of the pop-up.

    What's going on?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Mushinto

    Mushinto
    Expand Collapse
    Master Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    7,556
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    And this is what my task manager says is going on:
     

  3. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    5,218
    0
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Spybot will get that out of your PC.
     
  4. fastvfr

    fastvfr
    Expand Collapse
    Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    2,344
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    My first suggestion would be to quit using such a buggy, featureless, security-hole-ridden browser and begin using a browser that will not invite such problems onto your PC.

    Both Mozilla Suite and Firefox have built-in popup suppression, along with several dozen other features, that make either one a far better choice than Internet Exploder.

    There is A NIGHT AND DAY difference for the better.;)
     
  5. AZ-Boog

    AZ-Boog
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    531
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, Arizona
    I run XP Pro with SP2.

    SP2 has a buitl in pop up blocker now.

    I've been running IE with SP2 and have had zero problems with it.

    I run AdAware and SpyBot and I'm clean.
     
  6. NightWolfe

    NightWolfe
    Expand Collapse
    Grumpy Glocker

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    167
    0
    Location:
    FL
    and IE doesn't ? thats news to me ...
     
  7. bachchoy

    bachchoy
    Expand Collapse
    Bond

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    275
    0
    Location:
    My Old Kentucky Home.
    Your on the FBI's list now!


    Have a nice day!:)
     
  8. SamBuca

    SamBuca
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    317
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    Go to Microsoft.com and install their spyware utility. It's far superior to the others...including the utility that I've sworn by for a while.
     
  9. FThorn

    FThorn
    Expand Collapse
    TV/Movie Club

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    658
    0

    Or the most security-depraved OS.
     
  10. troyboy30

    troyboy30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    164
    0
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    funny how they always say..quit using such a buggy and unsafe browser. I have never used anything but IE and have never had a single problem. I did actually try firefox and others and they just suck. They look like netscape to me.
     
  11. Wicked96SS

    Wicked96SS
    Expand Collapse
    Typical Gun Nut
    Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 1999
    369
    0
    Location:
    Woodbridge, VA
    Okay, to take this thread out of the "My Kung Fu is better than your Kung Fu" nonsense...

    As already suggested, I would try Spy Bot Search and Destroy, it is free, and has worked very well for me.

    Spy Bot home page

    Keep it updated and run it every once and a while (I run mine weekly).

    If you don't have SP2, I would consider getting that AFTER you have cleaned your computer using SBSD... Also, I believe, there is a service pack out for Explorer as well that helps with popup management. SP2 even comes with a firewall that I immediately turned off, but some people like it. I haven't had a chance to play with it much.

    Either way, I am confident that Spy Bot will at least help.

    Good Luck!
     
  12. Sinister Angel

    Sinister Angel
    Expand Collapse
    I'd Hit It!

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    252
    0
    Location:
    Traverse City, Michigan
    IE can't even get the ****ing PNG spec right.
     
  13. Mushinto

    Mushinto
    Expand Collapse
    Master Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    7,556
    8
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    Installed it last night. So far, so good.

    Thanks for all the answers, even the ones I didn't understand.

    ML
     
  14. RaiderRodney

    RaiderRodney
    Expand Collapse
    Just Win Baby

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    504
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Spybot along with Ad-Aware SE will keep you safe. I think all the guys boycotting IE were saying is that Firefox will help you decrease all those "findings" from Spybot & Ad-Aware.

    I ran IE for many years and never had a problem either, but with Firefox, less stuff does get through IMOP.
     
  15. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    no, IE doesn't (unless you are running XP and SP2).
     
  16. troyboy30

    troyboy30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    164
    0
    Location:
    Smyrna, GA
    try running spywareguard and spyware blaster. I have never run anything but IE and I never have any hits on my spyware scans.
     
  17. FThorn

    FThorn
    Expand Collapse
    TV/Movie Club

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    658
    0
    Buy a Macintosh.
     
  18. hwyhobo

    hwyhobo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    1,426
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Quit computing altogether, it's not worth it. Our forefathers didn't have computers and elected better presidents. I blame Microsoft.

    :shocked: ;)
     
  19. David_G17

    David_G17
    Expand Collapse
    /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2002
    2,046
    0
    the previous response was from January, why did you bring this thread back to the top?
     
  20. hankhan

    hankhan
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Run regedit and start deleting registry keys until the problem goes away. Shouldn't take too long. ;)