close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Hard drive question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by handyman, Aug 21, 2010.


  1. handyman

    handyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    1,360
    11
    I just built a computer and have 1 40gb solid-state drive and loaded windows 7, would like just the operating system on that drive. Would like to install another regular drive, will it ask you when you load programs which one you would like it go on? Thanks.
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Most software have the option to do a custom install that will allow you to chose the installation location.


    .
     

    #2 Sgt. Schultz, Aug 21, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2010
  3. MrSmoofy

    MrSmoofy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    957
    0
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    Installing the programs on the SSD will allow them to load alot faster. Save all of your data to the regular drive. Search Google on how to change ther "USER" directories to the regular drive.
     
  4. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    All you need to do is right click on the folder (My Documents, My Music, My Pictures) and select the location tab to change it.
     
  5. MrSmoofy

    MrSmoofy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    957
    0
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
  6. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Why would it stop working? I have done it exactly as I posted on more computers than I can count without any issues. It's so easy even a caveman could do it ...
     
  7. MrSmoofy

    MrSmoofy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    957
    0
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    Because your only changing those folders and Windows will continue to use C:\Users\<UserName> to store stuff like Applicatio data, Application Settings, etc.
     
  8. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    You didn't answer my question, I asked "why would it stop working"? Moving the location of the folders in my post would not cause any problems.


    ... and why would anyone worry about any of those files, it's a 40 GB drive with plenty of space for Windows, besides the OP asked about installing programs on the second drive.
     
  9. MrSmoofy

    MrSmoofy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    957
    0
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    I've had customers with programs installed that when doing your way found there applications no longer worked and also applications that installed some kind of service that used those folders causes problems as well when booting up.
     
  10. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Don't know what to tell you because I've been moving them that way for customers since XP was released and never had any problems, even those on networks.
     
  11. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,947
    133
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    Me too... just like Sgt. Schultz says...

    Put Data and Applications on drive D: to keep the SSD running fast, and not fill it up too fast.

    Been making perfect sense to me for quite some time.

    not really sure of what you have seen or experienced in the past...
     
  12. MrSmoofy

    MrSmoofy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    957
    0
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    Either way if you go with the way I said you will move the entire Users folder and save even more space.
     
  13. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    M$ made it easy and safe to move the "My" folders long ago because system/network administrators want their users to keep their data on a server for backup purposes


    ..
     
  14. MrSmoofy

    MrSmoofy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    957
    0
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    So what about all the other folders that don't start with My? For example the AppData folder. Personally mine is 26+ gig's that would eat up half the OP's 40gb SSD just by itself.
     
  15. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,947
    133
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    So, exactly what is using up the 26 gigs?
     
  16. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    It seems to me that moving all the folders you suggested would defeat the purpose of having a SSD ... whenever a program is launched it would have to access files stored on what is presumably a slower drive.


    .
     
  17. solomansousana

    solomansousana
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    1,522
    0
    Location:
    Hampton, Virginia
    Most certainly, when you 1st install software it shows you the destination, and gives you the option to install it somewhere else. I have a Dell Inspiron 580 that I've installed two SSD, 40gb for windows 7 ultimate 64bit, and 140gb for ONLY the software I choose.

    Solid state drives make start up uber fast.
     
  18. MrSmoofy

    MrSmoofy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    957
    0
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    You win! Do whatever you want I don't care.
     
  19. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,685
    976
    Location:
    Indiana
    Well you cared enough to make 6 posts in this thread... ;)

    It's ok man, I'll take the heat off of you...

    Linux rules, and Windows Drools!

    IGF
     
  20. handyman

    handyman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    1,360
    11
    Thank-you for the responses, I have another computer and will try the different ways and see which one works the best for me.