close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Hard Drive Failing?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Adjuster, Jun 17, 2010.


  1. Adjuster

    Adjuster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    13,868
    1,284
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach Florida USA
    At random after my computer has been running for awhile my hard drive will start making a very rhythmic clunkity clunkity sound. Sometimes it will go weeks or even months without doing it. Once it starts making that sound all my applications slow to a crawl. I know whats happening so I start shutting down all my applications so I can turn off the computer. The hard drive is trying to read the instructions I am giving it but it is skipping and rereading etc trying to get back on track. Sometimes I am able to shut it all down and other times I get the blue memory dump screen of death. When I restart all is good till the next random occurrence. Two questions:

    Am I correct that this sounds like impending hard drive failure?

    What is the easiest most hassle free way to clone my current drive to a new drive so I don't have to make any software changes or have any issues what so ever. I want to clone to new drive, remove old drive, install new drive like nothing ever happened. Is this possible? Any Microsoft issues, software issues, hardware issues?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Yes I'd say that a "clunkity clunkity" sound coming from a hard drive means it's about to fail ... backup your data ASAP.

    As for cloning I use Ghost but it's not free, I'm sure others here can name a few free ones ...
     

    #2 Sgt. Schultz, Jun 17, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
  3. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,699
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    If you know how to burn an ISO.. clonezilla is free.. but the images it creates are usually pretty good size.. so you'll need a spare drive/other large media source to put the image.

    IGF
     
  4. CitizenOfDreams

    CitizenOfDreams
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    8,111
    5
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Sometimes the "clunk" can be caused by a loose power connector on the hard drive. But usually it means the hard drive is on its way to the big RAID in the sky.

    Buy a new drive and save whatever you can still read from the old one. Restore the rest of your documents from the backup (you did make regular backups, right?).
     
  5. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,699
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yup.. I had that problem once... but mine, the connector wasn't lose, somehow a wire had come loose inside the molex(no I didn't pull on it). I had bought a drive, when I realized the problem, I returned it and bought a power supply, and it worked fine..

    IGF
     
  6. Adjuster

    Adjuster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    13,868
    1,284
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach Florida USA
    I will check the cable more closely. I did make sure it was plugged in securely during my last investigation. Should I buy a new cable and try it out in case there is an internal loose wire within the cable that is not readily visible?
     
  7. Ljay

    Ljay
    Expand Collapse
    Micky's Packin

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    725
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I never just trust one hard drive, My tower has 4, Hard drives in it, One for XP one for Win7 Then the other two are cloned backups for each OS.


    If you have had one hard drive ever fail on you, You never want it to happen again.:shame:
     
  8. MavsX

    MavsX
    Expand Collapse
    The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    3,033
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    my computer has 6 drives in it :tongueout:

    [​IMG]
     
    #8 MavsX, Jun 18, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2010
  9. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Show off ... :tongueout:
     
  10. MavsX

    MavsX
    Expand Collapse
    The Dude Abides

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    3,033
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    if you got it..flaunt it. lol
     
  11. Adjuster

    Adjuster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    13,868
    1,284
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach Florida USA
    Ok guys surely with those multiple drives you have the knowledge to walk me through the process of ghosting my current drive to a new drive. I need it clean and simple. I don't want any kind of program registry problems or Microsoft no longer recognizes my hardware configuration problems. Please tell me this is possible.
     
  12. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    Yes you can do it ... you need a new (larger) hard drive and cloneing software. You install the drive as a slave, clone the drive and then swap them. (remove the old drive, change the jumpers on the new and reboot) Clonezilla looks simple to use download and try it.

    A couple of questions ...

    What OS are you running?
    How old is your current install?



    .
     
  13. Adjuster

    Adjuster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    13,868
    1,284
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach Florida USA
    Windows XP Pro.
    Install is a year old. Cant reformat tho, too much to lose. Lots of proprietary work stuff.