close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Hard Disks - Fault tolerance? Overhead?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by inthefrey, Jan 28, 2011.


  1. inthefrey

    inthefrey
    Expand Collapse
    Moved on...

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    5,671
    662
    Location:
    Western Pennsylvania
    #1 inthefrey, Jan 28, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2011
  2. Pierre!

    Pierre!
    Expand Collapse
    NRA Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    3,951
    136
    Location:
    Lovin Sparks Nv!
    Yup! You got it right, all related to RAID functions.

    Good Call!
     

  3. poodleshooter1

    poodleshooter1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    1,844
    0
    Think of fault tolerance like this: if a component fails (a disk or power supply for example) will my data be lost/system crash?

    Servers usually have redundant power supplies, NIC's, and disk (RAID) so that if one component fails, the whole thing doesn't come down. Give you an opportunity to replace components that failed while the system keeps working.
     
  4. tous

    tous
    Expand Collapse
    GET A ROPE!

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2001
    29,786
    23,583
    Location:
    Plano, Texas, Republic of
    The Disk Management utility does not reflect the overhead of a hardware RAID, no what fault-tolerant algorithm is used.

    Windows Server since 2003 sp1, Vista and Windows 7 allow users to mirror (RAID 1) HDDs via software. If you did this, that would appear in the fault tolerant and overhead columns. Should the system drive fail, you would see the option to IPL from the copy.

    A Hardware RAID is always preferable to a software RAID.
     
  5. poodleshooter1

    poodleshooter1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    1,844
    0
    This is true. It also does not take up the resources that software RAID does.
     
  6. Markasaurus

    Markasaurus
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    1,205
    0
    i used to be a Microsoft MCSE. Windows 98, and 2000, TCP/IP, and a couple hardware courses too. If you use windows, there usually are no magical command line tricks to fix it when it breaks, which it will. I fix problems with windows by reloading it. (i clone from a spare hard drive that's got the power unplugged but fresh loaded with my main programs).

    anyway, in my experience it's always best to assume windows is going to fail tomorrow. If its on the computer and i cant afford to lose it, i back it up to a DVD, a CD, a flash drive, or just send it to yahoo mail if it's small enough. I've always done things like this and i've never lost anything important when the Windows load crashed permanently.
     
    #6 Markasaurus, Jan 29, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011