Glock Talk banner

Gen 1 Glocks

45K views 53 replies 32 participants last post by  Buckshot Barry 
#1 ·
Why are Gen 1's so hard to find or am I missing something?

#2 ·
1st Gen G17s were only made for a few years - and those years had VERY low production numbers compared to today. If I did my math correctly, there were only about 115,000 Glocks (G17, G18 and G19) made to the end of Gen 1 production worldwide.

Attrition - how many guns (not just Glocks) are lost to fire, flood, etc?

Finally, most guys that have older Glocks just keep them. I work in a shop and can tell you that for roughly every 10 used Glocks we get, 9 will have been made in the past 2 years.

#3 ·
A lot of the 1st gen Glocks were issued to Law Enforcement Agencies and were up-graded with new trigger bars, fps, firing pins and extractors. They were used and abused by the Police and eventually ended up on the Surplus Markets, which have long since dried up.

I go to gun shows all the time and when I do see a 1st gen they are almost always in fair condition. A few years ago I found a NIB AA*** Glock 17 for selling for $400. Some old man had it, and I would have bought it but at the time I didn't have any money with me. A like new minty Glock 17 gen 1 can sometimes be found on Gunbroker.com

I happen to own a minty gen 1 that has all it's original components. It has the black serial number plate, all the black guts and does not have the lanyard hole in the grip. I baby this gun and occasionally will take it out of the safe and shoot it at the range.

#54 ·
I happen to own a minty gen 1 that has all it's original components. It has the black serial number plate, all the black guts and does not have the lanyard hole in the grip. I baby this gun and occasionally will take it out of the safe and shoot it at the range.
Thank you Quail Fat, I realize your post is 10 years old, but you just answered my question about the newly released P80 classic edition not having a lanyard hole.

#5 ·