close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

G30 and G29 barrel

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by 1canvas, Oct 13, 2012.


  1. 1canvas

    1canvas
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    3,066
    71
    Location:
    The Great State of Ohio
    does a G29 barrel fit in a G30?
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. PBRLite

    PBRLite
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    685
    3
    Location:
    Kansas
    Yes...
     

  3. DannyR

    DannyR
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 1998
    19,603
    79
    Location:
    Roanoke, Virginia
    I don't think so. While the OD of the barrels are the same, the dimensions of the barrel hood differ.:whistling:
     
  4. MikeG36

    MikeG36
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    1,479
    5
    Location:
    Have Gun Will Travel
  5. alwaysshootin

    alwaysshootin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    3,749
    1
    but,

    "DannyR I don't think so. While the OD of the barrels are the same, the dimensions of the barrel hood different"


    Cannot personally speak for the 29, and 30, but for giggles, know, the 20 fits in the 21 slide. As mentioned, also true here, the barrel hoods are different.

    From a, always being safe standpoint, there is a reason there are conversion barrels on the market.

    Someone will chime in eventually, stating, it's perfectly safe to do! Again, there is a reason for KKM, and Storm Lake, making a conversion barrel.:wavey:
     
  6. swinokur

    swinokur
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    2,255
    0
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD
    The difference in hood dimensions are just enough to say nope.
     
  7. 1canvas

    1canvas
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    3,066
    71
    Location:
    The Great State of Ohio
    but can I buy a 10mm conversion for a G30? I'm thinking of getting a G30 and would like to convert it to 10mm for the woods.
    I have heard others complain about the extra thickness of a G30 for carry over the compacts.
     
  8. swinokur

    swinokur
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    2,255
    0
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD
    Yes but there are enough differences in the extractors to affect reliability. For plinking, maybe, SD? No way IMO.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
G29 barrel in a G30, will it work? GATE Info & Announcements Feb 22, 2015
Is a barrel and mag all I need to change my G30 to a G29. Gunsmithing Apr 19, 2012
G29 and G30 SF now available! Talon Grips Jan 29, 2010
wtb G30 barrel and mags Wanted To Buy Apr 11, 2009
WTB 2nd generation G29 and G30 Wanted To Buy Sep 28, 2006
Duty Gear at CopsPlus