close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Fresh Install of Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Bensmiata, Oct 10, 2011.


  1. Bensmiata

    Bensmiata
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    263
    0
    I have a computer currently running XP that I'd like to put Windows 7 on and install a new 7200 rpm/500gb 2.5" hard drive. How do I go about this? How do I install the new copy of windows and what exactly do I need to do it? I'm pretty clueless here. I could really use some help.

    Thank you!
     
  2. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,699
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
    1. I *think* there's a Win 7 compatibility test you can download, to test your hardware and make sure it is powerful enough for 7.

    2. Go to the manufacturers website of your PC, see if they have Win 7 drivers (depending on age, unlikely). If drivers are not available, it doesn't necessarily mean Win 7 won't work.. just means you might run into difficulty

    3. Buy a copy of Win 7 "full version"(not an upgrade). You can buy the retail version, for probably a couple hundred bucks, or the OEM version, for probably 130.. just make sure you understand the differences of the two.

    4. Install new hard drive, and install 7 from the DVD.

    IGF
     

  3. Bensmiata

    Bensmiata
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    263
    0

    Is this http://www.amazon.com/Windows-Premi...PT3I/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1318261948&sr=8-2 what you mean or http://www.outletdeal.com/product.php?eid=37196&ags=6 ?
     
  4. IndyGunFreak

    IndyGunFreak
    Expand Collapse
    KO Windows

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    25,699
    982
    Location:
    Indiana
  5. Sgt. Schultz

    Sgt. Schultz
    Expand Collapse
    Annoying Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    2,195
    8
    Location:
    West Columbia, South Carolina
    You can buy the upgrade and do a clean install of Windows XP to Windows 7 but before you buy any version download and run this ... http://www.grc.com/securable.htm

    ... see if your system will run the x64 version.