close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Freemasons?

Discussion in 'Freemason's Lodge' started by duho7761, Jun 17, 2007.

1. duho7761

duho7761 I'm a nurse.

Jul 7, 2006
    Amarillo, Texas
    My father is a freemason, Scottish and York Rites, and he is a Kiva Shriner. Here lately, I have become curious about what Freemasons are all about. Today we had a long talk. Dad told me to read up on the internet and talk to other Masons about it.

So, Are there any Freemasons here? If so, why did you become a part of Masonry? What does being a Freemason mean to you?

I would ask that only those involved with Masonry answer this post. I know that this can be a hot-button topic. All I want is a friendly discusion, NOT a flame war!

2. Goose5

Goose5

Jul 2, 2005
    I am in the same boat as you. My father, brother, and grandfather are all past masters. My father was a 33 degree. I have been thinking about joining as well. Regardless of what follows. Free Masonary is all about self improvement.

3. davis513

davis513

May 16, 2006
    NC
    I found some interesting information on the Wikipedia site on Freemasonry regarding some of the history, etc of Freemasonry. Like you I have known friends that are Freemasons and was interested.

Check out the following link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freemasonry

4. USMC79to83

USMC79to83

Mar 10, 2004
    NV
  5. Trademark

Trademark tabula rasa

Apr 12, 2004
    If your father and/or Grandfather were in the lodge you are known as a "Lewis". This makes it much easier. There isn't a vote on you in most jurisdictions.
    Sit and talk with a MM. See if it's for you.

6. JimmyD

JimmyD

Jul 18, 2004
    Better than having to pay, I guess! :thumbsup:

7. Zero_G

Zero_G

Jun 10, 2007
    The website http://www.masonicinfo.com/ has a ton of info, mostly discussing the objections to Freemasonry.