close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Florida suppressor laws

Discussion in 'Florida Glockers Club' started by rolf2, Apr 24, 2007.

  1. rolf2

    rolf2

    1
    0
    Nov 6, 2005
    Is it legal to purchase a suppressor in Florida?
    What about local laws? (I live inside Miami city limits -so that may have restriction I suppose.)

    Thanks!
    :)
     
  2. 65Mustang

    65Mustang Jr. Engineer

    129
    0
    Apr 22, 2005
    The Great NorthWest
    I did a quick Google search and I found that the following is a list of states that do not allow the ownership of suppressors unless you are exempt (assume LEO, or military)

    California, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont

    Now the funny part is the website appears to come out of the UK:shocked:

    Link

    Hopefully someone else will chime in with more accurate information.

    :cool:
     

  3. 65Mustang

    65Mustang Jr. Engineer

    129
    0
    Apr 22, 2005
    The Great NorthWest
    Ok... so I realized that the link I posted was actually to a airsoft website. However, after a little more research I found this:


    (M30) Are Paintball and/or Airgun Sound Suppressers NFA firearms? [Back]

    The terms "firearm silencer" and "firearm muffler" mean any device for silencing, muffling, or diminishing the report of a portable firearm... Numerous paintball and airgun silencers tested by ATF’s Firearms Technology Branch have been determined to be, by nature of their design and function, firearm silencers. Because silencers are NFA weapons, an individual wishing to manufacture or transfer such a silencer must receive prior approval from ATF and pay the required tax.


    uh... wow.:upeyes:

    :cool:
     
  4. 65Mustang

    65Mustang Jr. Engineer

    129
    0
    Apr 22, 2005
    The Great NorthWest
    Back on topic...

    I found this Link That appears to say it is legal to own in Fl.

    I also looked at the Florida statutes but didn't see anything there. See this Link

    Unless someone can provide a link directly, I would contact your local sheriff and ask the question.

    :cool:
     
  5. theyre sold at gun shows every day to people with nothing but a drivers license. Florida allows the sale and use of suppressors.
     
  6. Usingmyrights

    Usingmyrights Jr Member

    2,800
    0
    Jul 4, 2005
    Jacksonville, FL
    Not legally. You need to send a Form 4 to the ATF along, with $200 and a blessing from the county sheriff. After 6 months or so you can an approval and with that approval you can then legally buy your suppressor
     
  7. G31

    G31 Millennium Member

    1,433
    4
    Jun 27, 1999
    NE FL
    Yep, requires an ATF F4 and $200. Florida has a preemption law, so local gov'ts can't regulate further than what state law allows.
     
  8. Usingmyrights

    Usingmyrights Jr Member

    2,800
    0
    Jul 4, 2005
    Jacksonville, FL
    You still need the sheriff/cheif LEO so sign off on it. From what I've heard, here in Jax the sheriff will sign on a suppressor but not a full auto.
     
  9. El Duderino

    El Duderino Go Gators!

    1,462
    0
    Dec 29, 2004
    Set up a trust. No CLEO signature needed.