close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Florida 5 day waiting period - WTF

Discussion in 'Florida Glockers Club' started by kcolg30, Mar 25, 2007.


  1. kcolg30

    kcolg30
    Expand Collapse
    Gaston's Child

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    75
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Hello,

    I have a CWP so I do not have to wait to purchase a gun. However, my father does not have a CWP and is looking at buying an AR-15, and all the gun dealers in Dade county say that there is a 5 day waiting period. I thought that the 5 day waiting period only applys to handguns not rifles. Did the demorats take over Florida ???
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. xaosflux

    xaosflux
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    52
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Is it a ClassIII? And did you count weekends as days?
     

  3. kcolg30

    kcolg30
    Expand Collapse
    Gaston's Child

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    75
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    No, just a regular ar-15 with a 16" barrel
     
  4. chad10mm

    chad10mm
    Expand Collapse
    Time to shoot

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    97
    0
    Location:
    FL
    If I'm remembering right counties may impose additional waiting periods on firearms.
    The waiting period where I live is 3 days for handguns, and used to be no waiting period for rifles...but it's been a few years since I bought a rifle retail so I don't know if that remains true.
     
  5. Droanx

    Droanx
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    133
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    You are correct. Certain counties that are more Democraticly minded. Dade being in the Miami area is definately on that list along with Palm Beach (where I moved away from).

    Just get a CWP and never wait.
     
  6. MP1SG

    MP1SG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    181
    0
    Location:
    Tampa Bay area, FL
    Other than what the others have said, you live in S. FL, it is controlled by the Dems.
     
  7. Usingmyrights

    Usingmyrights
    Expand Collapse
    Jr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    2,800
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Go a little north out of the Miami area to buy one. Waiting sucks, especially when state law say you don't have to.
     
  8. MiamiE

    MiamiE
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    241
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    I think Alex Penelas a while back instituted the 5 day wait. It used to be 3 days! May I ask where you purchased your AR?
     
  9. kcolg30

    kcolg30
    Expand Collapse
    Gaston's Child

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    75
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ace gun Range in Doral is where I purchased my AR. All though Lou's Police supply has it cheaper but they were out of stock at the time.
     
  10. XNYTRUCKIE

    XNYTRUCKIE
    Expand Collapse
    Smoke Eater

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    101
    0
    Location:
    Deerfield Beach,South Florida
    why buy it from a store, just get a Delton kit, order stripped lower from spikes tatical for $100 and build one , the total cost of building this way is about $650.

    I have never heard of the 5 day wait for CCW holders... I bought my G26 at lous and didnt have to wait.. If he wants it soon and doesnt want to wait have him Check out National on St rd 84 in Davie , decent selection and great people to deal with..
     
  11. Rusty Shackleford

    Rusty Shackleford
    Expand Collapse
    mmhmm

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    1,087
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    The 5 day waiting period mentioned in this thread has nothing to do with CCW holders.
     
  12. Court in FL.

    Court in FL.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    137
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Here is the Palm Beach County Ordnance.

    From,http://www.atf.gov/firearms/statelaws/26thedition/index.htm

    Court in FL.



    28-23. Mandatory waiting period; Criminal

    history records check requirement.

    (a) No person shall deliver a firearm to another

    person, other than a licensed dealer, licensed

    manufacturer or licensed importer, in connection

    with the sale, as defined in section 28-1, of such

    firearm for a period of five (5) business days

    from the date of the sale.

    (b) No person shall deliver a firearm to another

    person, other than a licensed dealer, licensed

    manufacturer or licensed importer, in connection

    with the sale, as defined in section 28-1, of such

    firearm until the seller, either directly or through

    a licensed dealer, licensed manufacturer or licensed

    importer, has:

    (1) Requested a national criminal history records

    check of the potential purchaser or transferee

    of the firearm from FDLE or NICS, and

    (2) Received an approval/identification number

    from FDLE or NICS signifying the potential

    purchaser or transferee of the firearm would not

    be prohibited by state or federal law from receiving

    or possessing a firearm.

    (c) The provisions of this section shall not apply

    to holders of a concealed weapons permit issued

    pursuant to general law of the State of

    Florida when purchasing a firearm.

    28-24. Enforcement. It shall be the duty and

    responsibility of law enforcement officers within

    their respective jurisdictions to enforce this

    article and all related state laws.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Palm Beach Waiting Period Florida Glockers Club Feb 14, 2011
Cabarrus county permit waiting period Carolina Glockers Apr 25, 2009
Firearm Permit Waiting Period Mississippi Glockers Feb 17, 2009
Waiting period Tri State Glockers Oct 12, 2007
New CCW license waiting period Florida Glockers Club Jun 7, 2007
Duty Gear at CopsPlus