close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

First loads problem with primers

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by DRJ1911, Aug 25, 2012.

1. DRJ1911

DRJ1911

I ran a few different loads to test today on my new Dillon 650 for my 9mm's and ran into a few problems. I got most worked out but I am still having problems with high primers. I will run a few and all will be well and then get a primer or two not fully seated. This is my first time loading on a progressive and I am not sure what I am doing wrong. Anyone have any advise ? I am using clean once fired brass and win primers and had about 15rd out of 40 that were not seated correctly so I am doing something wrong. Thanks for any help.

Doyle

2. norton

norton

Make sure you are pushing firmly on the handle when you seat the primer on the upstroke. All of your primers are small ones aren't they? Also could it be your 9mm cases have military crimps?

3. DRJ1911

DRJ1911

Thanks Norton, Yes I am using sm primers and no crimped cases. I think you are right about my seating pressure and will be watching this closely on my next batch. Thanks again

Doyle

4. shotgunred

shotgunred local trouble maker

Once you have used it a while you will feel the primers seat. But you have to remember that all primer pockets are not created equal. They also haven't worn the same. My first guess would be you are not pressing hard enough on the upstroke to fully seat the primers in tight pockets. Make sure that you take a full stroke each time.

5. fredj338

fredj338

Don't baby the machine. Many first time semiauto press (I am starting to not like calling it a progressive) users are squeemish about priming. Push on the handle, you are NOT going to set them off.

Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  6. DRJ1911

DRJ1911

Thanks everyone, I now think that I am just not being consistent enough on the up stroke. I will work on this. Thanks again

P.S. I loaded 124gr fmj pd bullets with 3.6 and 3.8 gr of v320

Doyle