close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Firefox slowing down?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by kirklite99, Jan 23, 2011.


  1. kirklite99

    kirklite99
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    239
    0
    I'm running the latest version and it keeps slowing down the longer I use it until I completely close it. I know there were memory leak problems with previous versions, but I thought they fixed that. Any ideas? Other than that, my computer runs great. No viruses, registry errors, extraneous BS, etc...
     

    Wanna kill these ads? We can help!
  2. alphacat

    alphacat
    Expand Collapse
    account deleted

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    3,202
    0
    I've noticed the slow down myself.
    Don't know why that is, maybe someone on here does.
     

    #2 alphacat, Jan 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2011
  3. kirklite99

    kirklite99
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    239
    0
    I know... It's irritating when you click on another tab and it takes forever to switch over.
     
  4. alphacat

    alphacat
    Expand Collapse
    account deleted

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    3,202
    0
    It sure is. Mine keeps crashing and I have to restart it.
     
  5. TBO

    TBO
    Expand Collapse
    Why so serious?
    CLM
    1. The Outpost Lounge

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    41,719
    9,040
    Location:
    NRA Life Member
    Much love for FF, but it's been surpassed, performance wise, but Google Chrome.

    I still have FF on my box, but haven't used it other than check and see if new updates have improved performance (no they haven't).

    I use Google Chrome almost exclusively (dabbled with Opera a few months back, but Chrome is king once again).
     
  6. JFrame

    JFrame
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    36,532
    2,892
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US of A
    I switched to FF 4.0 Beta, found it still a hair too unstable, and switched back to FF 3.x. I'm currently running 3.6.13.

    Honestly, I'm not seeing the slow-down of which some of you speak. :dunno:


    .
     
  7. kirklite99

    kirklite99
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    239
    0
    I'm running the same version. I don't shut my computer down entirely very much and usually just "put it to bed" in standby for a quick start-up. I find at least once a week I have to shut Firefox down and watch the memory "come back" in task manager. Then I re-open it and everything is fine for a few days. Weird... I do keep at least 10, and sometimes up to 20, tabs open at once, but that shouldn't matter.
     
  8. JFrame

    JFrame
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    36,532
    2,892
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US of A
    I'm sorry to hear about the trouble you've been experiencing. :frown:

    Just a stupid question -- did you trying uninstalling FF and doing a reinstall?

    I find that software can get very tricky depending on the firmware and configurations of any given machine. I know that some software has given me fits that others use with no problems.


    .
     
  9. Glockdude1

    Glockdude1
    Expand Collapse
    Federal Member
    CLM

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    23,739
    1,829
    Location:
    Beaumont,Texas
    I am using FF and experiencing no problems.

    :cool:
     
  10. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
    It can happen when certain add-ons / plug-ins automatically update are updated without uninstalling the older versions. Click "Tools" than click "Add-ons" and then uninstall all of them. You can write them down first if they are special add-ons but if they common ones that ask to install while surfing the internet it's not required. Also in "Add / Remove Programs" uninstall Adobe Flash Player and Java if it shows more than one version installed. Flash Player is usually the problem though.
     
  11. kirklite99

    kirklite99
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    239
    0
    I have Adobe Flash Player 10 Active X and Adobe Flash Player 10 Plugin. Do I need both of those?
     
  12. GIockGuy24

    GIockGuy24
    Expand Collapse
    Bring M&M's

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    4,037
    5
    Location:
    With Amber Lamps
    I believe one is for Internet Explorer and one is for "other" internet browsers. If you use something other than I.E. you can uninstall both of them and just install the one for other browsers.

    Here is a link

    http://filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_firefox/8674/

    The download is on the upper right side of the screen.

    For IE

    http://filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_ie/8673/

    If you go to Adobe's website it will automatically detect which browser you are using, I think it will anyway. I'd get the non-IE download at Filehippo though.

    http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/

    http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/
     
  13. MySiK26

    MySiK26
    Expand Collapse
    ******

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    2,950
    0
    Location:
    Mulligan's Valley, CO
    Like TBO, I use Chrome exclusively. :cool:
     
  14. swinokur

    swinokur
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    2,255
    0
    Location:
    Bethesda, MD
    My version does the same thing. I have to shut it down and restart it.
     
  15. kirklite99

    kirklite99
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    239
    0
    I tried it and had problems (like many others did...I researched it) with not being able to print from Yahoo and read Hotmail because of Google's beef with Microsoft. Also, talk about a resource hog. :upeyes:
     
  16. gemeinschaft

    gemeinschaft
    Expand Collapse
    AKA Fluffy316

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    2,181
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Try this:

    Type "About:Config" in the address bar and press enter.

    Accept the warning and continue.

    Scroll down to "Network.http.pipelining" right click and toggle to "True"

    Set "Network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to 30 by right click and selecting Modify.

    Toggle "Network.http.proxy.pipelining" to True

    Right click and select "New" --> "Integer"

    Name it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and enter value "0"

    Close Firefox and reopen.
     
  17. Obi Wan

    Obi Wan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    2,105
    15
    Location:
    'Round the bend...
    OK, 'Fluffy', I've done it. Will my machine blow up on me tonight? :supergrin:

    Thanks... we'll see what happens! :whistling:
     
  18. gemeinschaft

    gemeinschaft
    Expand Collapse
    AKA Fluffy316

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    2,181
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Is there any change?


    The other culprit sometimes can be a problem with an Add-on to Firefox. The best way to figure out if this is an issue is to disable your add-ons and then see if the problem still exists.

    If your problem is fixed with all of your Add-ons disabled, then one by one enable them starting with the ones that you use most. If you can narrow down which one is causing the issue, then simply get rid of it or reinstall it.
     
    #18 gemeinschaft, Jan 25, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  19. Obi Wan

    Obi Wan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    2,105
    15
    Location:
    'Round the bend...
    I haven't had a chance to close down and reboot yet. Will do it later.

    When my system bogs down, I clean up with ATF and Crap Cleaner, run Avira every night, and occasionally run AntiMalware. Did find some trojans last month, but a reboot usually clears things up for awhile.

    Haven't located a particular add-on yet that's guilty.
     
  20. gemeinschaft

    gemeinschaft
    Expand Collapse
    AKA Fluffy316

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    2,181
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    The changes that you make in the about:config screen will not take place until after you close Firefox and then open it again.

    Let me know if you experience anything different - this is how I configure all my PCs.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Firefox Shutting Down? Tech Talk Dec 3, 2010
Computer slowing down Tech Talk Mar 7, 2010
Help: Computer Slowing Down Tech Talk Apr 5, 2006
Slowing Down The Lighter Side Mar 9, 2006
My mouse keeps slowing down. Tech Talk Jan 6, 2005
Duty Gear at CopsPlus